book cover of Marathon

Marathon

(2017)
(The eighth book in the Jonathan Stride series)
A novel by

 
 

The extraordinary first Jonathan Stride thriller

On a June morning, thousands of people crowd into Duluth for the city's biggest annual event: the Duluth Marathon. Then there is an explosion along the race course...

Within minutes, Jonathan Stride, Serena Dial, and Maggie Bei are at work with the FBI to find the culprits. As social media feeds a flood of rumour, one spectator remembers being jostled by a young man with a backpack not far from the bomb site. He spots a tourist's photo and is convinced he sees the man who bumped into him.

When he tweets the photo, Khan Rashid becomes the most wanted man in the city.

But are the answers behind the Duluth bombing more complex than anyone realizes? And can Stride, Serena, and Maggie find the truth before more innocent people are killed?

This powerful and gripping thriller from bestseller Brian Freeman doesn't let go, perfect for fans of Chris Carter, Michael Connelly and Mason Cross.

Praise for Marathon

'Gripping... besides being a chilling reminder of what can happen in our divided society, the book is a fast, compelling read.' Publishers Weekly

'With strong characters and a propulsive plot, this thriller races to a breathless finish before truth becomes collateral damage.' Star Tribune

'Freeman builds on his torn-from-the-headlines story with a surprising resolution and a healing conclusion.' Booklist

'Once you start you will sprint through the pages... Marathon is a fascinating, captivating, and involving thriller/procedural.' Great Mysteries and Thrillers

'A suspense-filled page turner with complex characters, misdirection, misinformation, and a manhunt through the streets of Duluth' Duluth News-Tribune

'One of the top writers in the genre... Freeman's Marathon is a firecracker... delves into the topics that really matter - all within a story that never lets up.' Cemetery Dance

'A fast-paced and riveting drama that I could not put down... the best book in this grippingly thrilling series.' Dru's Book Musings

Genre: Mystery    

Praise for this book

"Brian Freeman is a first-rate storyteller." - Nelson DeMille


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Y is for Yesterday
(Kinsey Millhone, book 25)
Sue Grafton
thumb
Golden Prey
(Lucas Davenport, book 27)
John Sandford
thumb
The Late Show
(Renee Ballard, book 1)
Michael Connelly

Used availability for Brian Freeman's Marathon

Hardback Editions

May 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Marathon (A Jonathan Stride Novel)
Author(s): Brian Freeman
ISBN: 1-68144-241-8 / 978-1-68144-241-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

April 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Marathon (A Jonathan Stride Novel)
Author(s): Brian Freeman
ISBN: 1-68144-240-X / 978-1-68144-240-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

May 2017 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Marathon: A Jonathan Stride Novel (Jonathan Stride, Book 8)
Author(s): Brian Freeman
ISBN: 1-4417-4618-8 / 978-1-4417-4618-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


May 2017 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Marathon: Library Edition (Jonathan Stride)
Author(s): Brian Freeman
ISBN: 1-4417-4617-X / 978-1-4417-4617-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


May 2017 : USA Audio CD

Title: Marathon: A Detective Stride Mystery
Author(s): Brian Freeman MD
ISBN: 1-4417-4621-8 / 978-1-4417-4621-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


May 2017 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: Marathon: A Jonathan Stride Novel (Jonathan Stride, Book 8)
Author(s): Brian Freeman MD
ISBN: 1-4708-2509-0 / 978-1-4708-2509-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


May 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Marathon: A Jonathan Stride Novel
Author(s): Brian Freeman
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon   


May 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Marathon: A Jonathan Stride Novel
Author(s): Brian Freeman
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

July 2017 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Marathon: The extraordinary new Jonathan Stride Thriller (Jonathan Stride Thrillers)
Author(s): Brian Freeman
Publisher: Canelo Action
Availability: Amazon UK   


May 2017 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Marathon (A Jonathan Stride Novel)
Author(s): Brian Freeman
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA