New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of Bascombe Novels

Bascombe Novels

(A book in the Frank Bascombe series)
An omnibus of novels by

(Book Jacket Status: Jacketed)

A trilogy of brilliant novels - The Sportswriter, Independence Day, and The Lay of the Land - that charts the life and times of one of the most beloved and enduring characters in modern fiction.

When we meet Frank Bascombe in The Sportswriter, his unguarded voice instantly wins us over and pulls us into a life that has been irrevocably changed - by the loss of a marriage, a career, a child. We then follow Frank, ever laconic and observant, through Independence Day and The Lay of the Land, witnessing his fortune's rise and his family's fragmentation. With finely honed prose and an eye that captures the most subtle nuances of the human condition - all its pathos and beauty and strangeness - Ford transforms this ordinary man's life into a riveting, moving parable of life in America today.

    Get it on Google Play

Similar books by other authors

A Tetralogy
(Harry Rabbit Angstrom)
John Updike

Used availability for Richard Ford's Bascombe Novels

Hardback Editions

March 2009 : UK Hardback

Title: The Bascombe Novels
Author(s): Richard Ford
ISBN: 1-84159-319-2 / 978-1-84159-319-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Everyman
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

April 2009 : USA Hardback

Title: The Bascombe Novels (Everyman's Library Contemporary Classics Series)
Author(s): Richard Ford
ISBN: 0-307-26903-5 / 978-0-307-26903-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Everyman's Library
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

October 2012 : UK Kindle edition

Title: The Bascombe Novels: The Sportswriter, Independence Day, The Lay of the Land
Author(s): Richard Ford
Publisher: Bloomsbury Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon UK