New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of Pharsalus

Pharsalus

(2013)
(The fifth book in the Sword of Rome series)
A Novella by

 
 
"The coming man of historical fiction." - Saul David, bestselling author and historian.


Pharsalus, 48BC.


The battle will decide the fate of a civil war and empire. Caesar's forces are outnumbered, but he believes his veterans will not be outmatched.


For one veteran, the centurion Lucius Oppius, the battle will be about revenge rather than glory. Oppius has vowed to avenge his father's death. His enemy is Flavius Laco - a former gladiator and an agent of Pompey the Great.


Against the backdrop of one of Ancient History's most momentous battles two soldiers will wage their own personal war.


Caesar, Pompey, Mark Antony, Brutus and Cicero all feature in the climax to the bestselling Sword of Rome series.


For fans of Bernard Cornwell, Simon Scarrow and Conn Iggulden.


The Sword of Rome series of novellas follow Julius Caesar and his centurion Lucius Oppius during their campaigns in Britain, Gaul and the Civil War. The stories are a blend of action, intrigue and Ancient History.


Richard Foreman's books have been widely praised.


Praise for 'Augustus: Son of Rome'.


'Augustus: Son of Rome forges action and adventure with politics and philosophy. This superb story is drenched in both blood and wisdom - and puts Foreman on the map as the coming man of historical fiction'. - Saul David, Author of the Zulu Hart series.


Praise for 'Raffles: The Complete Innings'.


"Classy, humorous and surprisingly touching tales of cricket, friendship and crime." - David Blackburn, The Spectator.


Praise for 'A Hero of Our Time'.


'An elegant novel which is awash with both hope and tragedy. A Hero of Our Time is a must read for anyone interested in WWII or 19th Century Russian Literature.' - Nigel Jones, author of 'Countdown To Valkyrie'.


Praise for 'Warsaw'.


"Warsaw is a work of power. It has the authentic feeling that pulses from an important book. The meticulous research and psychological insights light up one of the most ghastly episodes in the history of man's inhumanity to man."
Patrick Bishop, author of 'Fighter Boys' and 'A Good War'.


Richard Foreman is the author of numerous best-selling Kindle books, including 'Augustus: Son of Rome' and the Raffles series of historical crime novellas. He is also the author of 'Warsaw', a literary novel set during the end of the Second World War. He lives in London.

Genre: Historical    

Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Eagle and the Wolves
(Eagles of the Empire, book 4)
Simon Scarrow
thumb
The Eagle's Prey
(Eagles of the Empire, book 5)
Simon Scarrow
thumb
Rome: Sword of the Legion
(Sword of the Legion, book 1)
R Cameron Cooke
thumb
Stiger's Tiger
(Chronicles of An Imperial Legionary Officer, book 1)
Marc Alan Edelheit

Used availability for Richard Foreman's Pharsalus

Audio Editions

July 2014 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Pharsalus: Sword of Rome, Book 5
Author(s): Richard Foreman
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon   


July 2014 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Pharsalus: Sword of Rome, Book 5
Author(s): Richard Foreman
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon CA   


July 2014 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Pharsalus: Sword of Rome, Book 5
Author(s): Richard Foreman
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

March 2018 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Sword of Rome: Pharsalus (Sword of Rome Book 5)
Author(s): Richard Foreman
Publisher: Sharpe Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA