book cover of Warsaw
Added by 1 of our members

Warsaw

(2012)
A novel by

 
 
"Warsaw is a work of power. It has the authentic feeling that pulses from an important book. The meticulous research and psychological insights light up one of the most ghastly episodes in the history of man's inhumanity to man." -
Patrick Bishop, author of 'Fighter Boys and A Good War'.


The Warsaw Ghetto. 1942.

Adam Duritz, a Jewish Policeman, is charged with the duty of selecting five people each day to be transported to Treblinka - or else he will be selected himself.

Thomas Abendroth is a German soldier, trying his best to retain his humanity in the inhumane ghetto. Thomas befriends Adam. Both men make enemies of other people in power though.

Yet, far more than his friendship with the German, Adam realises that his salvation resides in his love for Jessica Rubenstein. If he can save her, he may also save himself.

Their fates - and those of others - will intertwine and be decided during a climactic evening on the streets of the ghetto, where love and tragedy abound - and collide.

'Warsaw' is a novel which lingers long in the heart and mind. For fans of Dostoyevsky's Crime & Punishment and Thomas Keneally's Schindler's Ark.

Author Bio:
Richard Foreman is the bestselling author of numerous historical series set during the Roman Republic and Roman Empire, including the Augustus Caesar books, Sword of Empire and Sword of Rome. He is also the author Warsaw, Raffles: The Complete Innings and Band of Brothers, a series charting the story of Henry V and the Agincourt campaign. Richard writes modern thrillers too, under the pseudonym of Thomas Waugh. His latest book is Siege, the first book in a series about the First Crusade. He is a judge for the HWA Crowns and the founder of the London History Festival. He lives in London.
Praise for Richard Foreman's Books.
Spies of Rome.
"A masterful and evocative depiction of a fledgling imperial Rome fraught with intrigue and at war with itself. The story and characters are as striking as the graffiti that adorns the violent city's walls during Augustus' rise." Steven Veerapen, author of The Abbey Close.
"An arresting opening that leads into a thoroughly gripping story. Impressive research and understanding of the period allows Richard Foreman to move so seamlessly and effectively from historical epic to historical detective thriller. A must read for fans of Steven Saylor." Peter Tonkin, author of The Ides.
Augustus: Son of Rome
'Augustus: Son of Rome forges action and adventure with politics and philosophy. This superb story is drenched in both blood and wisdom - and puts Foreman on the map as the coming man of historical fiction'. Saul David, Author of the Zulu Hart series.
Raffles: The Complete Innings.
'Classy, humorous and surprisingly touching tales of cricket, friendship and crime.' David Blackburn, The Spectator.
Band of Brothers: The Complete Campaigns.
'Escapism at its best... A great read that tells much about the style of war and how the individuals fought.' Michael Jecks
'A rattling good yarn, requiring only the minimum of suspension of belief, and leaves one eagerly anticipating the next instalment of the adventures of the team as they accompany the King to Harfleur.' Major Gordon Corrigan, author of A Great and Glorious Adventure: A Military History of the Hundred Years War.

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"Warsaw is a work of power." - Patrick Bishop


Similar books by other authors

thumb
The March
(Forgotten Legion Chronicles)
Ben Kane
thumb
Arthur Britannicus
(Forgotten Emperor, book 1)
Paul Bannister

Used availability for Richard Foreman's Warsaw

Paperback Editions

July 2018 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Warsaw
Author(s): Richard Foreman
ISBN: 1-71780-554-X / 978-1-71780-554-6
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2018 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Warsaw
Author(s): Richard Foreman
ISBN: 1-980698-05-8 / 978-1-980698-05-0
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


December 2012 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Warsaw
Author(s): Richard Foreman
ISBN: 1-4811-2072-7 / 978-1-4811-2072-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

March 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Warsaw: "Warsaw is a work of power. It has the authentic feeling that pulses from an important book." Patrick Bishop.
Author(s): Richard Foreman
Publisher: Sharpe Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU