book cover of Hill 112
Added by 35 members
 

Hill 112

(2024)
A novel by

 
 
A gripping story of friendship and division in the midst of warfare, set against one of the most dramatic, dangerous, and crucial campaigns of World War II: the Battle of Normandy.

They went to war as boys. Will they make it home as men?

D-Day. June 6th, 1944. The trajectory of the Second World War – and with it the course of modern history – is changed for ever.

For three young former schoolmates from South Wales, their war is only just beginning.

James was the school cricket captain. Now, a few short years later, he is in charge of a troop of Sherman tanks.

Mark, just nineteen, must lead a platoon of infantrymen into battle.

And Bill, always something of a loner, sees the heart of the fighting as a private soldier.


These young men, and thousands of others, will soon be a part of one of the bloodiest and most brutal parts of the Normandy campaign: the battle for Hill 112. The horror, the fear, the filth; the savage fighting; the sheer exhilaration and moments of farce and laughter: those who come through the carnage will never be the same again.

From critically acclaimed author and historian Adrian Goldsworthy, Hill 112 is based on real events and the records and reminiscences of those who were there. Published to coincide with the eightieth anniversary of D-Day, Hill 112 is perfect for fans of Robert Harris and Simon Scarrow.


Genre: Historical

Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Adrian Keith Goldsworthy's Hill 112


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors