book cover of Button Man
Added by 36 of our members

Button Man

(2018)
(The Last Brother)
A novel by

 
 
“Mr. Gross's direct style is full of sentiment but never maudlin and well-suited to scenes of violent action. Button Man has plenty of zip–and lots of moxie, too." –Wall Street Journal

"This is a big, heartfelt handshake of a book, with all the street-scrambling energy that distinguishes the best fiction of Jeffrey Archer and Mario Puzo." –USA Today

Following up The One Man and The Saboteur, Gross's next historical thriller brings to life the drama of the birth of organized crime in 1930s New York City from the tale of one family.

After a string of New York Times bestselling suburban thrillers, Andrew Gross has reinvented himself as a writer of historical thrillers. In his latest novel, Button Man, he delivers a stirring story of a Jewish family brought together in the dawn of the women's garment business and torn apart by the birth of organized crime in New York City in the 1930s.

Morris, Sol, and Harry Rabishevsky grew up poor and rough in a tiny flat on the Lower East Side, until the death of their father thrust them into having to fend for themselves and support their large family. Morris, the youngest, dropped out of school at twelve years old and apprenticed himself to a garment cutter in a clothing factory; Sol headed to accounting school; but Harry, scarred by a family tragedy, fell in with a gang of thugs as a teenager. Morris steadily climbs through the ranks at the factory until at twenty-one he finally goes out on his own, convincing Sol to come work with him. But Harry can't be lured away from the glamour, the power, and the money that come from his association with Louis Buchalter, whom Morris has battled with since his youth and who has risen to become the most ruthless mobster in New York. And when Buchalter sets his sights on the unions that staff the garment makers' factories, a fatal showdown is inevitable, pitting brother against brother.

This new novel is equal parts historical thriller, rich with the detail of a vibrant New York City in the 1920s and 1930s, and family saga, based on Andrew Gross's own family story and on the history of the era, complete with appearances by real-life characters like mobsters Louis Lepke and Dutch Schultz and special prosecutor Thomas Dewey, and cements Gross's reputation as today's most atmospheric and original historical thriller writer.

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"A total, white-knuckle, stay-up-all-night thrill ride." - Harlan Coben

"Gross makes history come alive . . . A terrific read." - Nelson DeMille

"A compelling, fast paced historical thriller that paints a rich portrait of the rise of organized crime in 1930's America. Fans of Boardwalk Empire and Dennis Lehane will love it." - Kristin Hannah

"Gripping, chilling and charged with emotion." - Peter James


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Andrew Gross's Button Man

Hardback Editions

January 2019 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: Button Man
Author(s): Andrew Gross
ISBN: 1-64358-044-2 / 978-1-64358-044-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Center Point Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2018 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Last Brother
Author(s): Andrew Gross
ISBN: 1-5098-7837-8 / 978-1-5098-7837-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Macmillan
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


September 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Button Man: A Novel
Author(s): Andrew Gross
ISBN: 1-250-17998-X / 978-1-250-17998-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

July 2019 : USA Mass Market Paperback
thumb

Title: Button Man: A Novel
Author(s): Andrew Gross
ISBN: 1-250-21433-5 / 978-1-250-21433-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: St. Martin's Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Last Brother
Author(s): Andrew Gross
ISBN: 1-5098-7839-4 / 978-1-5098-7839-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Pan
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Last Brother
Author(s): Andrew Gross
ISBN: 1-5098-7838-6 / 978-1-5098-7838-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Macmillan
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

September 2018 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Last Brother
Author(s): Andrew Gross
ISBN: 1-5290-0696-1 / 978-1-5290-0696-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bolinda/Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


September 2018 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Last Brother
Author(s): Andrew Gross
ISBN: 1-5290-0697-X / 978-1-5290-0697-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bolinda/Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


September 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Last Brother
Author(s): Andrew Gross
Publisher: Macmillan Digital Audio
Availability: Amazon   


September 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Last Brother
Author(s): Andrew Gross
Publisher: Macmillan Digital Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Last Brother
Author(s): Andrew Gross
Publisher: Macmillan Digital Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


September 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Button Men
Author(s): Andrew Gross
ISBN: 1-4272-9926-9 / 978-1-4272-9926-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Button Man
Author(s): Andrew Gross
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   


September 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Button Man
Author(s): Andrew Gross
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


September 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Button Man
Author(s): Andrew Gross
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

September 2018 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Last Brother
Author(s): Andrew Gross
Publisher: Macmillan
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2018 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Last Brother
Author(s): Andrew Gross
Publisher: Macmillan
Availability: Amazon UK   


September 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Button Man: A Novel
Author(s): Andrew Gross
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA