book cover of Zero Hour
Added by 9 of our members

Zero Hour

(2019)
A novel by

 
 


The unforgettable story behind the most destructive day in British military history...



June, 1916

: The Great War is locked in stalemate, deep lines of trenches and barbed wire carved into the French countryside.

Sitting in an occupied chateau, General von Soden knows that something cataclysmic is coming. The British have been shelling for days and he is badly under-resourced and outnumbered. A frontal assault is surely imminent, but he has spent two years building an extraordinary series of defences for just that day...

Amidst the bombardment the British troops are preparing for the attack. Geoffrey Malins, with his cinematograph, Noel Hodgson writing poetry in his hut, Siegfried Sassoon observing the enemy, Sir Douglas Haig at HQ, waiting for the chance of glory...

As the battle lines muster, the full ferocity of war will be unleashed. For those on the Front, as for those in the wider world, nothing will ever be the same again.

Based on true stories, cinematic in scope and built around a huge cast, this is a blistering, unforgettable novel that brings home the brutality of war, perfect for fans of Rory Clements, Ben Macintyre and Robert Harris.

Genre: Historical

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Fugitive
(Jack Lark, book 9)
Paul Fraser Collard
thumb
War Lord
(Last Kingdom, book 13)
Bernard Cornwell
thumb
Burning the Water
(Border Reivers, book 2)
Robert Low

Used availability for Iain Gale's Zero Hour

Paperback Editions

January 2021 : UK Paperback

Title: Zero Hour: A Novel of the Somme
Author(s): Iain Gale
ISBN: 1-78863-814-X / 978-1-78863-814-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Canelo
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

March 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Zero Hour: A Novel of the Somme
Author(s): Iain Gale
Publisher: Canelo Action
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU