book cover of Winter at the Door
Added by 34 of our members

Winter at the Door

(2015)
(The first book in the Lizzie Snow Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
Perfect for fans of Jenny Milchman, Linda Castillo, and Lisa Gardner—the first book in a suspenseful new crime thriller series featuring the tough but haunted police chief Lizzie Snow, a big-city cop with a mission, taking on a small town with a dark side.

Moving from Boston to remote Bearkill, Maine, isn’t homicide cop Lizzie Snow’s idea of a step up. But breaking away from tragedy and personal betrayal is at least a step in the right direction. Her dead sister’s fate still torments her, as does her long-missing niece’s disappearance. Lizzie hopes to find the mysteriously vanished child here, amid the coming ice and snow. But in the Great North Woods, something darker and more dangerous than punishing winter is also bound for Bearkill.

The town is a world apart in more than distance—full of people who see everything, say little, and know more than they’ll share with an outsider. The only exceptions are the handsome state cop who once badly broke Lizzie’s heart and desperately wants another chance—and Lizzie’s new boss, sheriff Cody Chevrier, who’s counting on her years of homicide experience to help him solve his most troubling case, before it’s too late.

A rash of freak accidents and suicides has left a string of dead men—all former local cops. Now the same cruel eyes that watched them die are on Lizzie—and so is the pressure to find out what sort of monster has his hooks in this town, what his ruthless game is, and just how brutally he’ll play to win. Whatever the truth is, its twisted roots lie in the desolate backwoods of Aroostook County: where the desperate disappear, the corrupt find shelter, and the innocent lose everything. It’s there that a cunning and utterly cold-blooded killer plans the fate of the helpless lives at his mercy—one of whom may be the lost child Lizzie will do anything to save. As a blizzard bears down, and Bearkill’s dark secrets claw their way to the surface, Lizzie gears up for a showdown that could leave the deep, driven snow stained blood red.

Praise for Winter at the Door

“Sarah Graves writes with grace and intelligence, and a love for her state shines through in this stylish debut of a new series set against Maine’s dark and foreboding forests. I’m hooked!”—Margaret Maron, New York Times bestselling author of Designated Daughters

“Fast and dangerous, an extraordinarily entertaining read, Winter at the Door grabbed me from the thrilling first page.”—Linda Castillo, New York Times bestselling author of The Dead Will Tell

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Fast and dangerous, an extraordinarily entertaining read, Winter at the Door grabbed me from the thrilling first page. Sarah Graves paints a vivid picture of remote Bearkill, Maine. She’s created a likeable, endearing heroine in Lizzie Snow, who’s everything you could want in a cop hero: quirky and fun and fallible, but when the chips are down you know she’s got your back. I’ve no doubt Snow will quickly become a reader favorite." - Linda Castillo

"With Winter at the Door, Sarah Graves has pulled off a small miracle. Through artfully precise language and a plot that kept me turning pages well past my bedtime, she transported me to a North Woods village that seemed utterly real in the vividness of its details and yet almost dreamlike. I got out my map of Maine, looking for the backwoods town of Bearkill, and was surprised when I couldn’t find it. What a fantastic setting, and what a great character in Lizzie Snow. I can’t wait for the next book." - Paul Doiron

"Sarah Graves writes with grace and intelligence, and a love for her state shines through in this stylish debut of a new series set against Maine’s dark and foreboding forests. I’m hooked!" - Margaret Maron


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Sarah Graves's Winter at the Door

Hardback Editions

June 2015 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: Winter at the Door
Author(s): Sarah Graves
ISBN: 1-62899-581-5 / 978-1-62899-581-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Center Point
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2015 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Winter at the Door (Lizzie Snow)
Author(s): Sarah Graves
ISBN: 0-345-53501-4 / 978-0-345-53501-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Bantam
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

September 2015 : USA Mass Market Paperback
thumb

Title: Winter at the Door (Lizzie Snow)
Author(s): Sarah Graves
ISBN: 0-345-53502-2 / 978-0-345-53502-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Bantam
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

January 2015 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Winter at the Door: A Lizzie Snow Mystery, Book 1
Author(s): Sarah Graves
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon   


January 2015 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Winter at the Door: A Lizzie Snow Mystery, Book 1
Author(s): Sarah Graves
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon CA   


January 2015 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Winter at the Door: A Lizzie Snow Mystery (Lizzie Snow (1))
Author(s): Sarah Graves
ISBN: 1-63379-436-9 / 978-1-63379-436-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Dreamscape Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2015 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: Winter at the Door: A Lizzie Snow Mystery (Lizzie Snow (1))
Author(s): Sarah Graves
ISBN: 1-63379-440-7 / 978-1-63379-440-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Dreamscape Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

January 2015 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Winter at the Door
Author(s): Sarah Graves
Publisher: Mulholland Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


January 2015 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Winter at the Door: A Novel (Lizzie Snow Book 1)
Author(s): Sarah Graves
Publisher: Bantam
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA