Patricia Moyes's picture

Patricia Moyes

Ireland (1923 - 2000)

Patricia Pakenham-Walsh was born in Dublin. In 1951, she married the photographer John Moyes. The marriage broke up in 1959. She married James Haszard, a lawyer and interpreter at the international court of justice in The Hague. Her mystery novels feature C.I.D. Inspector Henry Tibbett. One of them, "Who Saw Her Die" (Many Deadly Returns in the US) was nominated for an Edgar Allan Poe Award in 1971. She also wrote several juveniles and short stories. She died in Virgin Gorda (British Virgin Islands) on August 2, 2000.

Genres: Mystery
Inspector Henry Tibbett
   1. Dead Men Don't Ski (1958)
   2. The Sunken Sailor (1961)
     aka Down Among the Dead Men
   3. Death On the Agenda (1962)
   4. Murder a La Mode (1963)
   5. Falling Star (1964)
   6. Johnny Underground (1965)
   7. Murder Fantastical (1965)
     aka Murder By Threes
   8. Death and the Dutch Uncle (1968)
   9. Who Saw Her Die? (1970)
     aka Many Deadly Returns
   10. Season of Snows and Sins (1971)
   11. The Curious Affair of the Third Dog (1973)
   12. Black Widower (1975)
   13. To Kill a Coconut (1977)
     aka The Coconut Killings
   14. Who Is Simon Warwick? (1978)
   15. Angel Death (1980)
   16. A Six Letter Word for Death (1983)
   17. Night Ferry to Death (1985)
   18. Black Girl, White Girl (1989)
   19. Twice in a Blue Moon (1993)
Patricia Moyes recommends
Busy Bodies (1995)
(Claire Malloy, book 10)
Joan Hess
"Witty, pithy, and beautifully plotted... my favorite Claire Malloy so far"

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors