book cover of The Crimson Queen
Added by 4 of our members

The Crimson Queen

(2016)
(The first book in the Raveling series)
A novel by

 
 
2016 Ink and Insights Competition – Judges’ Favorite
2017 Readers' Favorite Award for Epic Fantasy
2nd in the 2017 SPFBO
#1 Amazon Best Seller in Epic Fantasy

Long ago the world fell into twilight, when the great empires of old consumed each other in sorcerous cataclysms. In the south the Star Towers fell, swallowed by the sea, while the black glaciers descended upon the northern holdfasts, entombing the cities of Min-Ceruth in ice and sorcery. Then from the ancient empire of Menekar the paladins of Ama came, putting every surviving sorcerer to the sword and cleansing their taint from the land for the radiant glory of their lord.

The pulse of magic slowed, fading like the heartbeat of a dying man.

But after a thousand years it has begun to quicken again.

In a small fishing village a boy with strange powers comes of age...

A young queen rises in the west, fanning the long-smoldering embers of magic into a blaze once more...

Something of great importance is stolen – or freed – from the mysterious Empire of Swords and Flowers...

And the immortals who survived the ancient cataclysms bestir themselves, casting about for why the world is suddenly changing...

Genre: Fantasy

Praise for this book

"Fresh, imaginative fantasy. The Crimson Queen introduces a world filled with powerful magic, clashing cultures, and epic conflicts. I couldn't put it down, and I can't wait to see where Alec Hutson takes this next." - AC Cobble

"Fans of George RR Martin and Will Wight will love The Crimson Queen by Alec Hutson. Hutson's prose is lyrical and spellbinding and will whisk you away to a world so vivid you can almost imagine you are living the adventure as it unfolds. A mesmerizing and grandiose tale that readers of epic fantasy will not want to miss!" - David Estes

"If you're looking for the next big thing in epic fantasy . . . then look no further." - Will Wight


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Of Shadow and Sea
(Elder Empire: Shadow, book 1)
Will Wight
thumb
Benjamin Ashwood
(Benjamin Ashwood, book 1)
AC Cobble

Used availability for Alec Hutson's The Crimson Queen

Paperback Editions

November 2016 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Crimson Queen
Author(s): Alec Hutson
ISBN: 0-9982276-0-9 / 978-0-9982276-0-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Alec Hutson
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

April 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Crimson Queen
Author(s): Alec Hutson
Publisher: Alec Hutson
Availability: Amazon   


April 2017 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Crimson Queen
Author(s): Alec Hutson
Publisher: Alec Hutson
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Crimson Queen
Author(s): Alec Hutson
Publisher: Alec Hutson
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Crimson Queen
Author(s): Alec Hutson
Publisher: Alec Hutson
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

December 2016 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Crimson Queen
Author(s): Alec Hutson
Publisher:
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU