book cover of Scrublands
Added by 13 of our members

Scrublands

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
In the vein ofThe DryandBefore the Fall, a town's dark secrets come to light in the aftermath of a young priest's unthinkable last act in this arresting and searing debut thriller.

In Riversend, an isolated rural community afflicted by an endless drought, a young priest does the unthinkable, killing five parishioners before being taken down himself.

A year later, accompanied by his own demons from wartime reporting, journalist Martin Scarsden arrives in Riversend. His assignment is simple: describe how the townspeople are coping as the anniversary of their tragedy approaches. But as Martin meets the locals and hears their version of events, he begins to realize that the accepted wisdom - that the priest was a pedophile whose imminent exposure was the catalyst for the shooting, a theory established through an award-winning investigation by Martin's own newspaper - may be wrong.

Just as Martin believes he's making headway, a new development rocks the town. The bodies of two German backpackers - missing since the time of the church shootings - are discovered in a dam in the scrublands, deserted backwoods marked by forest fires. As the media flocks to the scene, Martin finds himself thrown into a whole new mystery.

What was the real reason behind the priest's shooting spree? And how does it connect to the backpacker murders, if at all? Martin struggles to uncover the town's dark secrets, putting his job, his mental state, and his life at risk as more and more strange happenings escalate around him.

For fans of James Lee Burke, Jane Harper, and Robert Crais, Scrublands is a compelling and original crime novel that marks Chris Hammer as a stunning new voice in the genre. A compulsively listenable thriller of the highest order, Scrublands never loosens its grip, from its opening scene to the very last moment.

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
No Way Out
(DI Fawley Thriller, book 3)
Cara Hunter

Used availability for Chris Hammer's Scrublands

Hardback Editions

April 2019 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: Scrublands: A Novel
Author(s): Chris Hammer
ISBN: 1-4328-6293-6 / 978-1-4328-6293-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Scrublands
Author(s): Chris Hammer
ISBN: 1-5011-9674-X / 978-1-5011-9674-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2019 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Scrublands: The Stunning, Word-of-Mouth Thriller of 2019
Author(s): Chris Hammer
ISBN: 1-4722-5512-7 / 978-1-4722-5512-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Wildfire
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 2020 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Scrublands
Author(s): Chris Hammer
ISBN: 1-5011-9675-8 / 978-1-5011-9675-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Scrublands: The Stunning, Word-of-Mouth Thriller of 2019
Author(s): Chris Hammer
ISBN: 1-4722-5514-3 / 978-1-4722-5514-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Wildfire
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : Australia Mass Market Paperback
thumb

Title: Scrublands
Author(s): Chris Hammer
ISBN: 1-76087-552-X / 978-1-76087-552-7 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Availability: Amazon AU   


January 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Scrublands: The Stunning, Word-of-Mouth Thriller of 2019
Author(s): Chris Hammer
ISBN: 1-4722-5513-5 / 978-1-4722-5513-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Wildfire
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


July 2018 : Australia Paperback
thumb

Title: Scrublands
Author(s): Chris Hammer
ISBN: 1-76063-298-8 / 978-1-76063-298-4 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Availability: Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

January 2019 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Scrublands
Author(s): Chris Hammer
ISBN: 1-5082-7744-3 / 978-1-5082-7744-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2019 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Scrublands
Author(s): Chris Hammer
ISBN: 1-5082-7743-5 / 978-1-5082-7743-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Scrublands
Author(s): Chris Hammer
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon   


January 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Scrublands
Author(s): Chris Hammer
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


September 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Scrublands
Author(s): Chris Hammer
Publisher: Wildfire
Availability: Amazon   


September 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Scrublands
Author(s): Chris Hammer
Publisher: Wildfire
Availability: Amazon UK   


August 2018 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: Scrublands
Author(s): Chris Hammer
ISBN: 1-5288-1636-6 / 978-1-5288-1636-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


August 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Scrublands
Author(s): Chris Hammer
Publisher: Wavesound Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon   


August 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Scrublands
Author(s): Chris Hammer
Publisher: Wavesound Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon AU   


August 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Scrublands
Author(s): Chris Hammer
Publisher: Wavesound Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

January 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Scrublands
Author(s): Chris Hammer
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


July 2018 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Scrublands
Author(s): Chris Hammer
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Availability: Amazon AU   


July 2018 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Scrublands: The Stunning, Word-of-Mouth Thriller of 2019
Author(s): Chris Hammer
Publisher: Wildfire
Availability: Amazon UK