book cover of Scrublands
Added by 5 of our members

Scrublands

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
A powerful, compelling, vividly written Australian crime novel perfect for fans of Peter May and Jane Harper.

A dead river. A dying town. A killer's secrets....

In an isolated country town ravaged by drought, a charismatic young priest opens fire on his congregation, killing five men before being shot dead himself.

A year later, journalist Martin Scarsden arrives in Riversend to write a feature on the anniversary of the tragedy. But the stories he hears from the locals don't fit with the accepted version of events.

Just as Martin believes he is making headway, a shocking discovery rocks the town. The bodies of two backpackers - missing since the time of the massacre - are found in the scrublands. The media descends on Riversend, and Martin is the one in the spotlight.

Wrestling with his own demons, Martin finds himself risking everything to uncover a truth that becomes more complex with every twist. But there are powerful forces determined to stop him, and he has no idea how far they will go to make sure the town's secrets stay buried.

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Good Detective
(Detective P.T. Marsh, book 1)
John McMahon

Used availability for Chris Hammer's Scrublands

Hardback Editions

April 2019 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: Scrublands: A Novel
Author(s): Chris Hammer
ISBN: 1-4328-6293-6 / 978-1-4328-6293-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Scrublands
Author(s): Chris Hammer
ISBN: 1-5011-9674-X / 978-1-5011-9674-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2019 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Scrublands: The Stunning, Word-of-Mouth Thriller of 2019
Author(s): Chris Hammer
ISBN: 1-4722-5512-7 / 978-1-4722-5512-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Wildfire
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

July 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Scrublands: The Stunning, Word-of-Mouth Thriller of 2019
Author(s): Chris Hammer
ISBN: 1-4722-5514-3 / 978-1-4722-5514-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Wildfire
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : Australia Mass Market Paperback
thumb

Title: Scrublands
Author(s): Chris Hammer
ISBN: 1-76087-552-X / 978-1-76087-552-7 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Availability: Amazon AU   


January 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Scrublands: The Stunning, Word-of-Mouth Thriller of 2019
Author(s): Chris Hammer
ISBN: 1-4722-5513-5 / 978-1-4722-5513-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Wildfire
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2018 : Australia Paperback
thumb

Title: Scrublands
Author(s): Chris Hammer
ISBN: 1-76063-298-8 / 978-1-76063-298-4 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Availability: Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

January 2019 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Scrublands
Author(s): Chris Hammer
ISBN: 1-5082-7744-3 / 978-1-5082-7744-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2019 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Scrublands
Author(s): Chris Hammer
ISBN: 1-5082-7743-5 / 978-1-5082-7743-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Scrublands
Author(s): Chris Hammer
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon   


January 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Scrublands
Author(s): Chris Hammer
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


September 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Scrublands
Author(s): Chris Hammer
Publisher: Wildfire
Availability: Amazon   


September 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Scrublands
Author(s): Chris Hammer
Publisher: Wildfire
Availability: Amazon UK   


August 2018 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: Scrublands
Author(s): Chris Hammer
ISBN: 1-5288-1636-6 / 978-1-5288-1636-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


August 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Scrublands
Author(s): Chris Hammer
Publisher: Wavesound Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon   


August 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Scrublands
Author(s): Chris Hammer
Publisher: Wavesound Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon AU   


August 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Scrublands
Author(s): Chris Hammer
Publisher: Wavesound Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

January 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Scrublands
Author(s): Chris Hammer
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


July 2018 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Scrublands
Author(s): Chris Hammer
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Availability: Amazon AU   


July 2018 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Scrublands: The Stunning, Word-of-Mouth Thriller of 2019
Author(s): Chris Hammer
Publisher: Wildfire
Availability: Amazon UK