Karen Dionne's picture
Followed by 2 of our members

Karen Dionne


(Karen L Dionne)
USA flag

Detroit native Karen Dionne is the internationally published author of Boiling Point, an environmental thriller about an erupting volcano, a missing researcher, and a radical scheme to end global warming.


Karen is cofounder of the online writers community Backspace, and organizes the Backspace Writers Conferences held in New York City every year. She is a member of Sisters in Crime, Mystery Writers of America, the International Association of Media Tie-in Writers, and the International Thriller Writers, where she serves on the board of directors as Vice President, Technology.

Karen has been honored by the Michigan Humanities Council as a Humanities Scholar for her body of work as an author, writer, and as co-founder of Backspace.

Karen blogs at The Huffington Post, and has written about the publishing industry from an authors perspective for DailyFinance. She also reviews for The New York Journal of Books.

Genres: Mystery
 
Series
Innocence Lost
1. The Killing (2014)
thumb
 
Awards
Barry Awards Best Novel nominee (2018) : The Marsh King's Daughter


Karen Dionne recommends
thumb
The Choice (2017)
Samantha King
"An astonishing read! Emotionally raw and unexpected, Samantha King's beautifully crafted The Choice is an utterly unputdownable debut that heralds the entry of a major new talent."
thumb
Can You Hear Me? (2017)
Elena Varvello
"Readers will devour this novel in one sitting as I did, then chew over it long after the book is done."
thumb
The Marriage Pact (2017)
Michelle Richmond
"This sometimes disturbing, always thought-provoking, stunner of a novel will keep you reading far too late into the night."
thumb
Just Between Us (2017)
Rebecca Drake
"Rebecca Drake's Just Between Us is a stunner - a tense, twisty thriller about four ordinary women that begs the question: When a friend is in trouble, and all you want to do is help, how can everything go so terribly wrong?"
thumb
The Innocent Wife (2017)
Amy Lloyd
"The Innocent Wife is a stunner that leads the reader down a twisty path to a surprising, yet satisfying conclusion. You won't be able to stop turning the pages!"
thumb
The Last Mrs. Parrish (2017)
Liv Constantine
"Liv Constantine’s THE LAST MRS. PARRISH is a beautifully constructed set piece, an intricate narrative that doubles back and folds in on itself like a Mobius strip, revealing secret upon secret, and layer upon layer, with a seductive ‘just one more chapter’ urgency that will keep readers up all night. Giving new meaning to the adage ‘be careful what you wish for,’ THE LAST MRS. PARRISH proves that the worst that can happen just might be when you get what you want. Addictive!"
thumb
Look for Her (2017)
(DI Chloe Frohmann, book 3)
Emily Winslow
"Nothing is easy or simple, thanks to Winslow's delightfully devious mind. Surprising and satisfying, you won't be able to stop turning the pages of Look for Her."
thumb
The Devil's Claw (2017)
(Jennifer Dorey Mystery, book 1)
Lara Dearman
"A powerful debut. With smooth prose and engaging characters, Dearman draws her readers into a tangled web of secrets. Layer upon layer of lies and unexpected connections will keep readers guessing until the very end."
thumb
Strangers in Budapest (2017)
Jessica Keener
"A mesmerizing story of love and loss. Keener probes the depths to which grief and disappointment can drive a person away from those who only wish to love them."
thumb
A Map of the Dark (2018)
(Searchers , book 1)
Karen Ellis
"A riveting, breathless novel, equal parts police procedural and emotional personal journey. Karen Ellis's twisty plot, dark storytelling, and nail-biting action kept me reading far too late into the night. A triumph!"
thumb
The French Girl (2018)
Lexie Elliott
"A maelstrom of complicated friendships and shifting alliances. This addictive debut will keep you up late into the night!"
thumb
The Broken Girls (2018)
Simone St James
"Haunting and memorable... mesmerizing."
thumb
The Ruin (2018)
(Cormac Reilly, book 1)
Dervla McTiernan
"Fans of Tana French will love McTiernan's expertly plotted, complex web of secrets that refuse to stay hidden."
thumb
Everything About You (2018)
Heather Child
"Amazing, creepy, twisty and clever."
thumb
Paper Ghosts (2018)
Julia Heaberlin
"A stunner: a creepy, complicated thriller that crawls under your skin from the outset and burrows deeper with every page; the kind of ‘there’s no way this is going to end well’ story in which you know that what the character is doing is a very, very bad idea, but you can’t look away. It’s a chilling, nuanced, just-one-more-page novel from a master of psychological suspense. Highly recommended!"
thumb
Turn a Blind Eye (2018)
(D.I. Maya Rahman, book 1)
Vicky Newham
"Vicky Newham's TURN A BLIND EYE is a sensational debut; a current, timely police procedural featuring a DI like none you've ever seen. I loved this book!"
thumb
Do No Harm (2018)
L V Hay
"Crackles with tension."
thumb
Jane's Baby (2018)
Chris Bauer
"Chris Bauer's JANE'S BABY is a fresh and engaging page-turner in the tradition of Janet Evanovich and Carl Hiaasen, with a 'Wish I'd thought of that' premise, a bounty hunter with a serious problem, and a cast of quirky sidekicks on a collision course with both the past and the future. I read this in one sitting. Such a clever book!"
thumb
Lies That Bind Us (2018)
Andrew Hart
"How can you possibly understand the present if the past isn’t what you thought? Andrew Hart’s Lies That Bind Us answers that question with a compulsively unreliable narrator, a fascinating setting, intricate plotting, and prose that’s as smooth as the Aegean Sea where the story takes place. A tense and engaging thriller that will keep readers biting their nails until the very last page."
thumb
Somebody's Daughter (2018)
David Bell
"With razor sharp prose and a satisfyingly twisty plot, Somebody's Daughter is an intense, emotional thrill ride readers won't want to miss!"
thumb
The Other Sister (2018)
Sarah Zettel
"Sarah Zettel's THE OTHER SISTER is as dark and twisted as they come; a compelling and sinister psychological thriller in which every character is deeply flawed, their desire for revenge understandable and relatable. With its intricate web of secrets long buried, readers won't be able to stop turning the pages!"
thumb
In Her Bones (2018)
Kate Moretti
"Sensational; a stunning psychological thriller that kept me riveted from the first page to the last. A dark and compelling exploration of what it's like to grow up with someone who just may be the worst mother in the world, Moretti's chilling and insightful novel answers the question: If your mother is a serial killer and you're obsessed with her victims, what does that make you?"
thumb
The Lines We Leave Behind (2018)
Eliza Graham
"The Lines We Leave Behind is mesmerizing; a deeply affecting story of treachery, deception, sacrifice, and loss. Beautifully written and completely absorbing…"

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors