book cover of The Devouring Gray
Added by 3 of our members

The Devouring Gray

(2019)
(The first book in the Devouring Gray series)
A novel by

 
 
For fans of Stranger Things, Riverdale and The Raven Cycle. Can a group of teenagers hold back the otherworldly horror that stalks the woods?

On the edge of town a beast haunts the woods, trapped in the Gray, its bonds loosening…

Uprooted from the city, Violet Saunders doesn’t have much hope of fitting in at her new school in Four Paths, a town almost buried in the woodlands of rural New York. The fact that she’s descended from one of the town’s founders doesn’t help much, either—her new neighbours treat her with distant respect, and something very like fear. When she meets Justin, May, Isaac, and Harper, all children of founder families, and sees the otherworldly destruction they can wreak, she starts to wonder if the townsfolk are right to be afraid. When bodies start to appear in the woods, the locals become downright hostile. Can the teenagers solve the mystery of Four Paths, and their own part in it, before another calamity strikes?

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Praise for this book

"The Devouring Gray is an irresistible blend of unforgettable characters and spine-tingling horror. Full of witchy atmosphere; lush, detailed writing; and a trope-breaking, endearing group cast, this book will ensnare you and leave you deliciously haunted. A stunning debut." - Amanda Foody

"A grimly exhilarating tale of monsters in the woods and monstrous family legacies-and teens brave enough to fight them both. This New England Gothic will devour you." - Rosamund Hodge

"The only thing better than a chosen one is four chosen ones, and the only thing better than four chosen ones is four chosen ones who don't like each other very much. The Devouring Gray takes privilege and legacy by the throat and never lets go." - E K Johnston

"Fans of The Raven Boys and Strangers Things rejoice: this is your new obsession." - Claire Legrand


Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Lunatic's Curse
(Tales from the Sinister City, book 4)
F E Higgins
thumb
Poison Study
(Study / Chronicles of Ixia, book 1)
Maria V Snyder
thumb
Fly by Night
(Fly by Night, book 1)
Frances Hardinge

Used availability for Christine Lynn Herman's The Devouring Gray

Hardback Editions

April 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Devouring Gray (The Devouring Gray (1))
Author(s): Christine Lynn Herman
ISBN: 1-368-02496-3 / 978-1-368-02496-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

March 2020 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Devouring Gray
Author(s): Christine Lynn Herman
ISBN: 1-368-04231-7 / 978-1-368-04231-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Devouring Gray
Author(s): Christine Lynn Herman
ISBN: 1-78909-025-3 / 978-1-78909-025-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Titan Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

April 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Devouring Gray
Author(s): Christine Lynn Herman
ISBN: 1-974931-19-6 / 978-1-974931-19-4
Publisher: Dreamscape Media Llc
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Devouring Gray
Author(s): Christine Lynn Herman
ISBN: 1-974931-23-4 / 978-1-974931-23-1
Publisher: Dreamscape Media Llc
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Devouring Gray
Author(s): Christine Lynn Herman
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon   


April 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Devouring Gray
Author(s): Christine Lynn Herman
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Devouring Gray
Author(s): Christine Lynn Herman
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Devouring Gray
Author(s): Christine Lynn Herman
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Devouring Gray
Author(s): Christine Lynn Herman
Publisher: Titan Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Devouring Gray
Author(s): Christine Lynn Herman
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Availability: Amazon CA