book cover of The Escape
Added by 4 of our members

The Escape

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
A compelling wartime drama for fans of Lucinda Riley, Rachel Hore and Katherine Webb.

Detta works as a translator for a Nazi-run labour camp for French workers. One winter morning in early 1945, Detta passes a group of exhausted British prisoners of war who are being force-marched westwards. The following day she receives an urgent message to contact the local priest. He is harbouring a group of escaped British prisoners of war in the manse: can she help?

London, 1989. Miranda is a 19-year-old photography student in London, in thrall to her older boyfriend, a journalist called Quill. In November the fall of the Berlin Wall is all over the news. Quill asks Miranda to come with him to Germany: before they leave, Miranda's grandmother gives her an old postcard of the village she was born in. Miranda hopes that working together in Berlin will help cement the cracks in her relationship with Quill, but one night his behaviour spills over into violence, and Miranda ends up fleeing through the rubble of the Berlin wall and into the East. As she travels further, she begins to suspect she's being followed by the Stasi. If she goes on, she worries that she'll be taken into custody and be accused of spying; if she turns back, it means returning to Quill.

At last her grandmother's photograph offers the solution. She tells people that she is going to find her family in the East. The Catholic church, and the manse, opposite where her grandmother once lived, are still standing. And the secrets of the past begin to be revealed.

Genre: Sagas

Praise for this book

"An exceptional talent." - Kate Rhodes


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Clare Harvey's The Escape

Hardback Editions

May 2019 : UK Hardback

Title: The Escape
Author(s): Clare Harvey
ISBN: 0-7505-4706-5 / 978-0-7505-4706-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Magna Large Print Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


September 2018 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Escape
Author(s): Clare Harvey
ISBN: 1-4711-6187-0 / 978-1-4711-6187-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Escape
Author(s): Clare Harvey
ISBN: 1-4711-6189-7 / 978-1-4711-6189-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

May 2019 : UK Audio CD

Title: The Escape
Author(s): Clare Harvey
ISBN: 1-78502-949-5 / 978-1-78502-949-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Magna Story Sound
Availability: Amazon UK   


May 2019 : UK Audio CD

Title: The Escape
Author(s): Clare Harvey
ISBN: 1-78502-950-9 / 978-1-78502-950-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Magna Story Sound
Availability: Amazon UK   


January 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Escape
Author(s): Clare Harvey
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio UK
Availability: Amazon   


January 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Escape
Author(s): Clare Harvey
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio UK
Availability: Amazon AU   


January 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Escape
Author(s): Clare Harvey
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio UK
Availability: Amazon CA   


January 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Escape
Author(s): Clare Harvey
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio UK
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

January 2019 : Australia, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Escape
Author(s): Clare Harvey
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2019 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Escape
Author(s): Clare Harvey
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon UK