New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous book

Every Day Above Ground

(The third book in the Van Shaw Mystery series)
A novel by


"This guy has got what it takes."
Lee Child

A favor for a dying ex-con turns into a violent battle against a mysterious enemy for Van Shaw in this emotionally powerful and gritty thriller from the award-winning author of Past Crimes and Hard Cold Winter.

It sounds like a thief's dream to Van Shaw: A terminally ill ex-con tells him of an easy fortune in gold, abandoned and nearly forgotten after its original owner died in prison. For the dying man, the money is a legacy to ensure his preteen daughter's future. For Van, the gold is cash he desperately needs to rebuild his destroyed family home.

The grandson of a career criminal who taught him all the tricks of his trade, Van suspects that nothing is ever that easy. Sure enough, the safe holding the fortune is a trap - set by a mysterious player armed with tremendous resources and a lifetime of hatred. Now, Shaw's partner is in the clutches of the hunters, and the former army ranger may be their next prey. But when the ex-con's innocent daughter is threatened too, Van's own hard childhood means he can't let her come to harm.

To discover who has them in the cross hairs, Shaw must seek out the hunters' real prey. His quest leads him from an underground bare-knuckle fighting ring, which may be fronting a darker purpose, to a massive pop-culture convention, where Van and his allies, Hollis and Corcoran, play a dangerous game with foes on every side. It also introduces Van to a brash and beautiful aspiring journalist who poses a whole different kind of personal risk.

For years, Van Shaw has tried to live every day above ground, on the right side of the law, even though crime is his gift . . . and in his blood. If he survives the coming storm, he'll have to decide what he wants - and whether he can live as an outlaw without sacrificing his honor.

Genre: Mystery
Similar Books by other authors...

Where It Hurts
(Gus Murphy, book 1)

Reed Farrel Coleman

Vicious Circle
(Joe Pickett, book 17)

C J Box

Night School
(Jack Reacher, book 21)

Lee Child

Knife Creek
(Mike Bowditch Mystery, book 8)

Paul Doiron
Used availability for Glen Erik Hamilton's Every Day Above Ground

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Hardback Editions

July 2017 : USA Hardback
thumbTitle: Every Day Above Ground: A Van Shaw Novel (Van Shaw Novels)
Author(s): Glen Erik Hamilton
ISBN: 0-06-256738-1 / 978-0-06-256738-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: William Morrow
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

August 2017 : UK Paperback
Title: Every Day Above Ground
Author(s): Glen Erik Hamilton
ISBN: 0-571-33235-8 / 978-0-571-33235-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon UK   

Kindle Editions

July 2017 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumbTitle: Every Day Above Ground: A Van Shaw Novel (Van Shaw Novels)
Author(s): Glen Erik Hamilton
Publisher: William Morrow
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   

Search for