Steve Hamilton's picture

Steve Hamilton

USA flag (b.1961)

Born and raised in Detroit, Steve Hamilton graduated from the University of Michigan where he won the prestigious Hopwood Award for fiction. His first novel, A Cold Day in Paradise won the Private Eye Writers of America/St. Martin's Press Award for Best First Mystery by an Unpublished Writer. Once published, it won the 1999 Edgar and Shamus Awards for Best First Novel, and was short-listed for the Anthony and Barry Awards. Hamilton currently works for IBM in upstate New York where he lives with his wife Julia and their two children.

Steve Hamilton is the only author to ever win the Shamus and Edgar Awards for his first novel (Patricia Cornwell, Michael Connelly, Stuart Woods and James Patterson all started their careers with the coveted "Best First" Edgar prize), his second Alex McKnight novel, Winter of the Wolf Moon was named one of the year's Notable Books by the New York Times Book Review and received a starred review from Publishers Weekly as did his third and fourth novels, The Hunting Wind and North of Nowhere.

Genres: Mystery
Alex McKnight
   1. A Cold Day in Paradise (1998)
   2. Winter of the Wolf Moon (2000)
   3. The Hunting Wind (2001)
   4. North of Nowhere (2002)
   5. Blood Is The Sky (2003)
   6. Ice Run (2004)
   7. A Stolen Season (2006)
   Beneath the Book Tower (2011)
   8. Misery Bay (2011)
   9. Die a Stranger (2012)
   10. Let It Burn (2013)
   11. Dead Man Running (2018)
   Riddle Island (2023)
   Night Work (2007)
   The Lock Artist (2009)
Steve Hamilton recommends
Smoke Kings (2024)
Jahmal Mayfield
"Fearless, soulful, and timely. Smoke Kings is a gripping revenge thriller and sly social commentary all rolled into one. Everyone needs to read this book!"
All the Perils of This Night (2020)
Elizabeth Cunningham
"A smart and twisted literary thriller, one of the best of the year. I dare you to read the first few pages and then try to put this book down!"
Bleak Harbor (2018)
(Bleak Harbor, book 1)
Bryan Gruley
"The best book Gruley has ever written and unlike any other crime book I’ve ever read."

More recommendations 

Anthologies containing stories by Steve Hamilton
When a Stranger Comes to Town (2021)
(Mystery Writers of America Presents)
edited by
Michael Koryta
The Crooked Road, Volume 3 (2013)
edited by
Janet Hutchings

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors