book cover of Past Crimes
Added by 9 of our members

Past Crimes

(2015)
(The first book in the Van Shaw Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
Awards
Anthony Awards Best First Novel
Barry Awards Best First Novel (nominee)
Edgar Awards Best First Book (nominee)
Macavity Awards Best First Book
Come home, if you can...

For fans of LEE CHILD's Jack Reacher and DENNIS LEHANE's Kenzie and Gennaro, an unputdownable series debut, from a thrilling new voice in American crime writing

'A zipline ride of a thriller, plummeting through the back alleys of Seattle ... Hamilton has crafted a compelling new hero in Van Shaw.' Gregg Hurwitz, New York Times bestseller

If my grandfather's letter had stopped at the comma, I would have tossed it in the trash... only the last three words mattered. If you can. That passed for please, in the old man's way of talking... If you canscared me a little.

Meet Van Shaw - soldier, ex-con - as he returns to his native Seattle after a decade's self-imposed exile. Answering voices from his past, he finds a whole heap of trouble, and himself the prime suspect in the brutal attack on his grandfather. Drawn back into the violent, high-stakes life he tried to leave behind, he has to try and see right from wrong amid the secrets and resentments of those he was once closest to.

Think Boston crime think Dennis Lehane, think Washington DC think George Pelecanos, think LAthink Michael Connelly - and now, think Seattle think Glen Erik Hamilton

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"A home run off the first pitch - this guy has got what it takes." - Lee Child

"PAST CRIMES is a zipline ride of a thriller, plummeting through the back alleys of Seattle where murder and intrigue reign supreme and the undead past lurks around the next wrong turn. Buckle in and hang on!" - Gregg Hurwitz

"A debut novel from a gifted writer with a sure hand. As much fun to read as Lee Child's Jack Reacher." - J A Jance


Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Good Detective
(Detective P.T. Marsh, book 1)
John McMahon
thumb
The Clincher
(Horseshoer Mystery, book 1)
Lisa Preston

Used availability for Glen Erik Hamilton's Past Crimes

Hardback Editions

March 2015 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Past Crimes: A Van Shaw Novel (Van Shaw Novels)
Author(s): Glen Erik Hamilton
ISBN: 0-06-234455-2 / 978-0-06-234455-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: William Morrow
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

2001 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Past Crimes (A Van Shaw mystery)
Author(s): Glen Erik Hamilton
ISBN: 0-571-31459-7 / 978-0-571-31459-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2016 : USA Mass Market Paperback
thumb

Title: Past Crimes: A Van Shaw Novel (Van Shaw Novels)
Author(s): Glen Erik Hamilton
ISBN: 0-06-234456-0 / 978-0-06-234456-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: William Morrow
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2015 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Past Crimes (A Van Shaw mystery)
Author(s): Glen Erik Hamilton
ISBN: 0-571-31458-9 / 978-0-571-31458-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon UK   


Audio Editions

August 2015 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Past Crimes: Van Shaw, Book 1
Author(s): Glen Erik Hamilton
Publisher: Whole Story AudioBooks
Availability: Amazon   


August 2015 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Past Crimes: Van Shaw, Book 1
Author(s): Glen Erik Hamilton
Publisher: Whole Story AudioBooks
Availability: Amazon AU   


August 2015 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Past Crimes: Van Shaw, Book 1
Author(s): Glen Erik Hamilton
Publisher: Whole Story AudioBooks
Availability: Amazon UK   


March 2015 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Past Crimes: A Van Shaw Novel
Author(s): Glen Erik Hamilton
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


March 2015 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Past Crimes: A Van Shaw Novel
Author(s): Glen Erik Hamilton
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

March 2015 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Past Crimes (A Van Shaw mystery)
Author(s): Glen Erik Hamilton
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


March 2015 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Past Crimes: A Van Shaw Novel
Author(s): Glen Erik Hamilton
Publisher: William Morrow
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA