book cover of Wonderland
Added by 8 of our members

Wonderland

(2015)
A novel by

 
 
“Top of the line thriller writing…You better call in sick, because you’re not going anywhere until you finish reading it. Oh, and you might want to lock the door, too. Just to be safe.” —#1 bestselling author Jeffery Deaver

Fans of Chelsea Cain and Lisa Gardner will devour this edgy thriller about the gruesome secrets hidden beneath a small-town amusement park. From the author of Creep, Freak, and The Butcher, Jennifer Hillier’s “fine knack for creating hideous killers” (Booklist) is vividly on display.

Welcome to Wonderland. By day, it’s a magical place boasting a certain retro charm. Excited children, hands sticky with cotton candy, run frenetically from the Giant Octopus ride to the Spinning Sombrero, while the tinkling carnival music of the giant Wonder Wheel—the oldest Ferris wheel in the Pacific Northwest—fills the air. But before daybreak, an eerie feeling descends. Maybe it’s the Clown Museum, home to creepy wax replicas of movie stars and a massive collection of antique porcelain dolls. Or maybe it’s the terrifyingly real House of Horrors. Or…maybe it’s the dead, decaying body left in the midway for all the Wonder Workers to see.

Vanessa Castro’s first day as deputy police chief of Seaside, Washington, is off to a bang. The unidentifiable homeless man rotting inside the tiny town’s main tourist attraction is strange enough, but now a teenage employee—whose defiant picture at the top of the Wonder Wheel went viral that same morning—is missing. As the clues in those seemingly disparate crimes lead her down a mysterious shared path of missing persons that goes back decades, she suspects the seedy rumors surrounding the amusement park’s dark history might just be true. She moved to Seaside to escape her own scandalous past, but has she brought her family to the center of an insidious killer’s twisted game? Acclaimed author Jennifer Hillier’s bone-chilling thriller is masterful and fast-paced, hurtling toward a shocking, bloody conclusion.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Top of the line thriller writing…You better call in sick, because you’re not going anywhere until you finish reading it. Oh, and you might want to lock the door, too. Just to be safe." - Jeffery Deaver

"A fast-paced, razor-sharp thriller that is impossible to put down. Jennifer Hillier is a stunningly talented author and Wonderland is her best yet." - Mark Edwards


Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Night Hawks
(Ruth Galloway Mystery, book 13)
Elly Griffiths

Used availability for Jennifer Hillier's Wonderland

Paperback Editions

August 2016 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Wonderland: A Thriller
Author(s): Jennifer Hillier
ISBN: 1-5011-5750-7 / 978-1-5011-5750-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Gallery Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

October 2015 : USA, Australia, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Wonderland
Author(s): Jennifer Hillier
Publisher: Pocket Star
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 2015 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Wonderland
Author(s): Jennifer Hillier
Publisher: Pocket Star
Availability: Amazon UK