book cover of The Devil\'s Half Mile
Added by 1 of our members

The Devil's Half Mile

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
Golden Hill and The Alienist meet Gangs of New York in this sweeping historical crime drama set in 18th century New York.

New York, 1799: Justy Flanagan, lawyer, soldier, policeman, has returned to his native city, bloodied and battered after fighting in the Irish Rebellion against the English. Determined to hunt down the man who murdered his father, his inquiries lead him to Wall Street and the fledgling stock market there.

But as his investigations into the past move ahead, the horrific murders of young slave women in the present start to occupy his time. Convinced that there is a link between his father's murder, the deaths of the young women, and amassive fraud that nearly destroyed New York's economy, Justy can trust no one.

As the conspiracy deepens, it becomes clear that those involved will stop atnothing to keep their secrets. Justy is forced to choose: will he betray his father's memory, compromise his integrity, and risk the lives of his closest friends, to get to the bottom of a tale so dangerous, it could change the landscape of America forever?

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"A tense, violent and atmospheric crime thriller set in 1799 when the white-collar criminals carried switchblades and human lives were traded like sacks of grain." - Michael Robotham

"A meticulously researched historical thriller... with strong, multifaceted [characters] and tight plotting. I will impatiently await the sequel." - Patrick Taylor


Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Word is Murder
(Detective Daniel Hawthorne, book 1)
Anthony Horowitz

Used availability for Paddy Hirsch's The Devil's Half Mile

Hardback Editions

July 2018 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Devil's Half Mile: A sweeping historical crime novel for fans of Golden Hill and Hamilton the Musical (Lawless New York)
Author(s): Paddy Hirsch
ISBN: 1-78649-350-0 / 978-1-78649-350-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Devil's Half Mile: A Novel
Author(s): Paddy Hirsch
ISBN: 0-7653-9913-X / 978-0-7653-9913-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Forge Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

September 2019 : USA Paperback

Title: The Devil's Half Mile: A Novel
Author(s): Paddy Hirsch
ISBN: 0-7653-9914-8 / 978-0-7653-9914-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Forge Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Devil's Half Mile (Lawless New York)
Author(s): Paddy Hirsch
ISBN: 1-78649-352-7 / 978-1-78649-352-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


July 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Devils Half Mile
Author(s): Paddy Hirsch
ISBN: 1-78649-351-9 / 978-1-78649-351-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Atlantic Books Export
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

June 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Devil's Half Mile: A Novel
Author(s): Paddy Hirsch
ISBN: 1-4272-9691-X / 978-1-4272-9691-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Devil's Half Mile: A Novel
Author(s): Paddy Hirsch
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   


Kindle Editions

July 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Devil's Half Mile: A gripping historical crime for fans of C. J. Sansom (Lawless New York)
Author(s): Paddy Hirsch
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


June 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Devil's Half Mile: A Novel
Author(s): Paddy Hirsch
Publisher: Forge Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA