book cover of The Devil\'s Half Mile
Added by 1 of our members

The Devil's Half Mile

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
The Devil's Half Mile by Paddy Hirsch is a riveting historical thriller debut set in 1799 New York City

Seven years after a financial crisis nearly toppled America, traders chafe at government regulations, racial tensions are rising, gangs roam the streets and corrupt financiers make back-door deals with politicians... 1799 was a hell of a year.

Thanks to Alexander Hamilton, America has recovered from the panic on the Devil's Half Mile (aka Wall Street), but the young country is still finding its way. When young lawyer Justy Flanagan returns to solve his father's murder, he exposes a massive fraud that has already claimed lives, and one the perpetrators are determined to keep secret at any cost. The body count is rising, and the looming crisis could topple the nation.

"A thriller with strong, multifaceted heroes and villains, [and] tight plotting. I impatiently await the next adventure." - Patrick Taylor, NYT bestselling author of the Irish Country series

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"A tense, violent and atmospheric crime thriller set in 1799 when the white-collar criminals carried switchblades and human lives were traded like sacks of grain." - Michael Robotham

"A meticulously researched historical thriller... with strong, multifaceted [characters] and tight plotting. I will impatiently await the sequel." - Patrick Taylor


Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Blood Road
(Logan McRae, book 11)
Stuart MacBride
thumb
The Word is Murder
(Detective Daniel Hawthorne, book 1)
Anthony Horowitz
thumb
The Dante Chamber
(Dante Club, book 2)
Matthew Pearl

Used availability for Paddy Hirsch's The Devil's Half Mile

Hardback Editions

July 2018 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Devil's Half Mile: A sweeping historical crime novel for fans of Golden Hill and Hamilton the Musical
Author(s): Paddy Hirsch
ISBN: 1-78649-350-0 / 978-1-78649-350-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Devil's Half Mile: A Novel
Author(s): Paddy Hirsch
ISBN: 0-7653-9913-X / 978-0-7653-9913-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Forge Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

May 2019 : USA Paperback

Title: The Devil's Half Mile: A Novel
Author(s): Paddy Hirsch
ISBN: 0-7653-9914-8 / 978-0-7653-9914-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Forge Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2019 : UK Paperback

Title: The Devil's Half Mile
Author(s): Paddy Hirsch
ISBN: 1-78649-352-7 / 978-1-78649-352-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon UK   


July 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Devils Half Mile
Author(s): Paddy Hirsch
ISBN: 1-78649-351-9 / 978-1-78649-351-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Atlantic Books Export
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

June 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Devil's Half Mile: A Novel
Author(s): Paddy Hirsch
ISBN: 1-4272-9691-X / 978-1-4272-9691-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Devil's Half Mile: A Novel
Author(s): Paddy Hirsch
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   


Kindle Editions

July 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Devil's Half Mile: A sweeping historical crime novel for fans of Golden Hill and Hamilton the Musical
Author(s): Paddy Hirsch
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


June 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Devil's Half Mile: A Novel
Author(s): Paddy Hirsch
Publisher: Forge Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA