New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
John Jakes's picture

John Jakes

USA (1932 - )

aka Alan Payne, Jay Scotland

John Jakes is the author of fifteen consecutive New York Times bestselling novels, including On Secret Service, American Dreams, Homeland, California Gold, the North and South trilogy, and the Kent Family Chronicles. Descended from a soldier of the Virginia Continental Line who fought in the American Revolution, Jakes is considered one of today's most distinguished authors of historical fiction.

Genres: Science Fiction
Johnny Havoc
1. Johnny Havoc (1960)
2. Johnny Havoc Meets Zelda (1962)
     aka Havoc For Sale
3. Johnny Havoc and the Doll Who Had 'It' (1963)
     aka Holiday for Havoc
4. Making It Big (1968)
     aka Johnny Havoc and the Siren in Red



Crown Family Saga
1. Homeland (1993)
2. American Dreams (1998)
Series contributed to
Anthologies edited

Anthologies containing stories by John Jakes

Short stories
The Opener of the Crypt (1952)
The Man Who Wanted to Be in the Movies (1962)
The Sellers of the Dream (1963)
Sums (1976)
Witch House (1995) (with Jonathan Jakes-Schauer)

Books about John Jakes
John Jakes (1996) by Mary Ellen Jones and Kathleen Gregory Klein
John Jakes recommends

The Watch Gods (1981)
Barbara Wood
"An accomplished storyteller."

Harvest of Stars (1992)
(Harvest of Stars, book 1)
Poul Anderson
"The finest!"

A Personal Devil (2001)
(Magdalene la Batarde, book 2)
Roberta Gellis
"A superb storyteller of extraordinary talent."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors

Search for