New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>
book cover of 

The Court of the Air

The Court of the Air

(2007)
(The first book in the Jackelian series)
A novel by

 
When streetwise Molly Templar witnesses a brutal murder at the brothel she has recently been apprenticed to, her first instinct is to run back to the poorhouse where she grew up. But there she finds her fellow orphans butchered, and it slowly dawns on her that she was the real target of the attack. For Molly is a special little girl, and she carries a secret that marks her out for destruction by enemies of the state.

Oliver Brooks has led a sheltered existence in the backwater home of his merchant uncle. But when he is framed for his only relative's murder he is forced to flee for his life, accompanied by an agent of the mysterious Court of the Air. Chased across the country, Oliver finds himself in the company of thieves, outlaws and spies, and gradually learns more about the secret that has blighted his life.

Soon Molly and Oliver will find themselves battling a grave threat to civilization, an ancient power thought to have been quelled millennia ago. Their enemies are ruthless and myriad, but the two orphans are also aided by indomitable friends in this endlessly inventive tale full of drama, intrigue, and adventure.

The Court of the Air is a rollicking adventure set in a fantastical Dickensian clockwork universe that will appeal to fans of Susanna Clarke and Philip Pullman.

Genre: Fantasy
 
Similar Books by other authors...


The Return of the Discontinued Man
(Burton & Swinburne, book 5)

Mark Hodder

Lady of the Lake
(Witcher Saga, book 5)

Andrzej Sapkowski

The Book of Dust
(Book of Dust, book 1)

Philip Pullman
 
Used availability for Stephen Hunt's The Court of the Air


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

February 2009 : UK Hardback
thumbTitle: The Court of the Air
Author(s): Stephen Hunt
ISBN: 0-00-731722-0 / 978-0-00-731722-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperVoyager
Availability: Amazon UK   

June 2008 : USA Hardback
thumbTitle: The Court of the Air (Jackelian World)
Author(s): Stephen Hunt
ISBN: 0-7653-2042-8 / 978-0-7653-2042-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tor Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

March 2007 : UK Hardback
thumbTitle: The Court of the Air
Author(s): Stephen Hunt
ISBN: 0-00-723217-9 / 978-0-00-723217-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

March 2009 : USA Mass Market Paperback
thumbTitle: The Court of the Air (Jackelian World)
Author(s): Stephen Hunt
ISBN: 0-7653-6022-5 / 978-0-7653-6022-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tor Fantasy
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

March 2009 : USA Paperback
thumbTitle: Court of the Air
Author(s): Stephen Hunt
ISBN: 0-7653-8021-8 / 978-0-7653-8021-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: St. Martins Press-3PL
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

September 2007 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: The Court of the Air
Author(s): Stephen Hunt
ISBN: 0-00-723218-7 / 978-0-00-723218-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

April 2007 : UK Paperback
Title: The Court of the Air
Author(s): Stephen Hunt
ISBN: 0-00-723219-5 / 978-0-00-723219-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

September 2008 : Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: The Court of the Air
Author(s): Stephen Hunt
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Search for