New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Court of the Air

The Court of the Air

(2007)
(The first book in the Jackelian series)
A novel by

 
 
When streetwise Molly Templar witnesses a brutal murder at the brothel she has recently been apprenticed to, her first instinct is to run back to the poorhouse where she grew up. But there she finds her fellow orphans butchered, and it slowly dawns on her that she was the real target of the attack. For Molly is a special little girl, and she carries a secret that marks her out for destruction by enemies of the state.

Oliver Brooks has led a sheltered existence in the backwater home of his merchant uncle. But when he is framed for his only relative's murder he is forced to flee for his life, accompanied by an agent of the mysterious Court of the Air. Chased across the country, Oliver finds himself in the company of thieves, outlaws and spies, and gradually learns more about the secret that has blighted his life.

Soon Molly and Oliver will find themselves battling a grave threat to civilization, an ancient power thought to have been quelled millennia ago. Their enemies are ruthless and myriad, but the two orphans are also aided by indomitable friends in this endlessly inventive tale full of drama, intrigue, and adventure.

The Court of the Air is a rollicking adventure set in a fantastical Dickensian clockwork universe that will appeal to fans of Susanna Clarke and Philip Pullman.

Genre: Fantasy    Get it on Google Play

Similar Books by other authors...


Used availability for Stephen Hunt's The Court of the Air

Hardback Editions

February 2009 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Court of the Air
Author(s): Stephen Hunt
ISBN: 0-00-731722-0 / 978-0-00-731722-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperVoyager
Availability: Amazon UK   


June 2008 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Court of the Air (Jackelian World)
Author(s): Stephen Hunt
ISBN: 0-7653-2042-8 / 978-0-7653-2042-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tor Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2007 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Court of the Air
Author(s): Stephen Hunt
ISBN: 0-00-723217-9 / 978-0-00-723217-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

March 2009 : USA Mass Market Paperback
thumb

Title: The Court of the Air (Jackelian World)
Author(s): Stephen Hunt
ISBN: 0-7653-6022-5 / 978-0-7653-6022-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tor Fantasy
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2009 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Court of the Air
Author(s): Stephen Hunt
ISBN: 0-7653-8021-8 / 978-0-7653-8021-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: St. Martins Press-3pl
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


September 2007 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Court of the Air
Author(s): Stephen Hunt
ISBN: 0-00-723218-7 / 978-0-00-723218-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperVoyager
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2007 : UK Paperback

Title: The Court of the Air
Author(s): Stephen Hunt
ISBN: 0-00-723219-5 / 978-0-00-723219-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

September 2008 : Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Court of the Air
Author(s): Stephen Hunt
Publisher: HarperVoyager
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA