Chris Wooding's picture

Chris Wooding

UK flag (b.1977)

Chris Wooding was born in Leicester in 1977 and studied English Literature at Sheffield University. Chris has always wanted to be a writer, ever since ever. He grew up on a diet of C.S.Lewis, Tolkien, Orson Scott Card, Terry Brooks and innumerable horror writers, which pretty much shaped his tastes for fantasy and sci-fi. He started writing books at about sixteen, and survived two wintry years of being generally ignored before one of his horror/sci-fi novels was taken on by an agent. He still maintains that it could have been a contender had not Species come out a few months after he wrote it, which had near-on exactly the same plot.

Crashing was his first attempt at writing a teenage novel, based loosely on real-life people and events of his teens. He wrote it during a lazy summer holiday when he was nineteen, because he had nothing better to do with his time.

When he's not writing Chris enjoys listening to punk and SKA and watching diabolically bad horror films. He possesses the uncanny ability of being able to predict who will die and in what order after seeing only the first five minutes of these movies. He also loves cheesy Japanese animated videos, and plays in a couple of SKA-punk bands

Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult Fantasy
Broken Sky
   1. Broken Sky Part 1 (1999)
   2. Broken Sky Part 2 (1999)
   3. Broken Sky Part 3 (2000)
   4. Broken Sky Part 4 (1999)
   5. Broken Sky Part 5 (1999)
   6. Broken Sky Part 6 (1999)
   7. Broken Sky Part 7 (1999)
   8. Broken Sky Part 8 (1999)
   9. Broken Sky Part 9 (1999)
   Broken Sky Act 2: Communion (2008)
   Broken Sky Act 3: The Citadel (2008)
   Broken Sky: The Twilight War (2017)
Braided Path
   1. The Weavers of Saramyr (2003)
   2. Skein of Lament (2004)
   3. The Ascendancy Veil (2005)
Tale of the Ketty Jay
   1. Retribution Falls (2009)
   2. The Black Lung Captain (2010)
   3. The Iron Jackal (2011)
   4. The Ace of Skulls (2013)
   1. Malice (2009)
   2. Havoc (2010)
Darkwater Legacy
   1. The Ember Blade (2018)
   2. The Shadow Casket (2023)
   Catchman (1998)
   The Haunting of Alaizabel Cray (2001)
   Crashing (2003)
   Endgame (2003)
   Kerosene (2003)
   Poison (2003)
   Storm Thief (2006)
   The Fade (2007)
   Pale (2012)
   Silver (2013)
   Velocity (2015)
   Jack from Earth (2019)
Graphic Novels show
Books containing stories by Chris Wooding
The Restless Dead (2007)
Ten Original Stories of the Supernatural
edited by
Deborah Noyes
This Is Push (2007)
New Stories from the Edge
edited by
David Levithan

Arthur C. Clarke Award Best Book nominee (2010) : Retribution Falls

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors