book cover of The Last Resort
Added by 29 of our members

The Last Resort

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
Seven strangers. Seven secrets. One perfect crime.

When Amelia is invited to an all-expenses-paid retreat on a private island, the mysterious offer is too good to refuse. Along with six other strangers, she’s told they’re here to test a brand-new product for Timeo Technologies. But the guests’ excitement soon turns to terror when the real reason for their summons becomes clear.

Each guest has a guilty secret. And when they’re all forced to wear a memory-tracking device that reveals their dark and shameful deeds to their fellow guests, there’s no hiding from the past. This is no luxury retreat—it’s a trap they can’t get out of.

As the clock counts down to the lavish end-of-day party they’ve been promised, injuries and in-fighting split the group. But with no escape from the island—or the other guests’ most shocking secrets—Amelia begins to suspect that her only hope for survival is to be the last one standing. Can she confront her own dark past to uncover the truth—before it’s too late to get out?

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"What a trip! I love how Holliday writes, unafraid to mix genres. And this is no exception. Another ‘like nothing you’ve read’ thriller from one of my fave writers." - Louise Beech

"The Last Resort deals in cutting edge technology and old school mystery. The pace is unrelenting and you’ll be gripped to the last page." - Rachael Blok

"A fresh, modern take on the classic locked room mystery! If Michael Crichton, JJ Abrams & the Black Mirror creators wrote a thriller together this would be it!" - Steph Broadribb

"Superb. A chilling island-set thriller for fans of Dark Mirror and Agatha Christie." - Mark Edwards

"A deliciously dark mix of Agatha Christie and Black Mirror, with a plot that’s twisty and clever. One of the most original thrillers you’ll read this year." - Lisa Gray

"And Then There Were None meets Black Mirror: a highly entertaining and imaginative read. It’s going to be huge." - Cass Green

"Dark, compulsive, and just a little bit bonkers. Strap in and enjoy the ride." - Amanda Jennings

"The Last Resort kept me guessing until the very end. A clever concept with some fascinating characters." - John Marrs

"My god, what a ride! Couldn’t turn the pages fast enough." - Rod Reynolds

"This is one of those novels you race through with sheer enjoyment, dying to know how it all pans out. It’s her best yet—I couldn’t put it down." - Louise Voss


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Wrong Alibi
(Wrong Alibi, book 1)
Christina Dodd

Used availability for Susi Holliday's The Last Resort

Paperback Editions

December 2020 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Last Resort
Author(s): Susi Holliday
ISBN: 1-5420-2001-8 / 978-1-5420-2001-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thomas & Mercer
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

December 2020 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Last Resort
Author(s): Susi Holliday
ISBN: 1-71352-705-7 / 978-1-71352-705-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   


December 2020 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Last Resort
Author(s): Susi Holliday
ISBN: 1-71352-706-5 / 978-1-71352-706-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


December 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Last Resort
Author(s): Susi Holliday
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   


December 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Last Resort
Author(s): Susi Holliday
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


December 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Last Resort
Author(s): Susi Holliday
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


December 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Last Resort
Author(s): Susi Holliday
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

December 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Last Resort
Author(s): Susi Holliday
Publisher: Thomas & Mercer
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU