book cover of The Draining Lake
Added by 112 members

The Draining Lake

(The fourth book in the Inspector Erlendur series)
A novel by

Barry Awards Best Novel
Macavity Awards Best Novel (nominee)
Following an earthquake, the water level of an Icelandic lake suddenly falls to reveal a skeleton half-buried in its sandy bed. It has clearly been there many years. There is a large hole in the skull. Yet more mysteriously, it is weighted down by a heavy radio transmitter bearing inscriptions in Russian. The police are called in and Erlendur, Elinborg and Sigurdur Oli begin their investigation. It takes them back to the Cold War era, when bright, left-wing students in Iceland would be sent to study in the 'heavenly state' of Communist East Germany. A trail begins to emerge, from the hopes of youth to international espionage and murder in Iceland. It will take some time, however, before this episode gives up its secrets, or its various betrayals are avenged. "The Draining Lake" is another remarkable Reykjavik Murder Mystery. It describes passions and shattered dreams, the fate of the missing and the grief of those left behind. It is Arnaldur Indriethason's most gripping book yet.

Genre: Mystery

Visitors also looked at these books

Used availability for Arnaldur Indridason's The Draining Lake

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors