book cover of The Shadow Of What Was Lost
Added by 14 of our members

The Shadow Of What Was Lost

(2014)
(The first book in the Licanius Trilogy series)
A novel by

 
 
'A storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . ., Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire' GuardianAS DESTINY CALLS, A JOURNEY BEGINSIt has been twenty years since the god-like Augurs were overthrown and killed. Now, those who once served them - the Gifted - are spared only because they have accepted the rebellion's Four Tenets, vastly limiting their own powers. As a young Gifted, Davian suffers the consequences of a war lost before he was even born., He and others like him are despised. But when Davian discovers he wields the forbidden powers of the Augurs, he sets in motion a chain of events that will change everything. To the west, a young man whose fate is intertwined with Davian's wakes up in the forest, covered in blood and with no memory of who he is ., . . And in the far north, an ancient enemy long thought defeated, begins to stir.The Licanius trilogy:The Shadow of What Was LostAn Echo of Things to ComeThe Light of All That Falls (coming 2019)'Wonderful worldbuilding and terrific characters' Boingboing.net'Will appeal to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong worldbuilding' Fantasy Faction'Love the Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favourite series' Barnes & Noble SF and Fantasy Blog

Genre: Fantasy

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Nevernight
(Nevernight, book 1)
Jay Kristoff
thumb
Promise of Blood
(Power Mage Trilogy, book 1)
Brian McClellan

Used availability for James Islington's The Shadow Of What Was Lost

Hardback Editions

November 2016 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Shadow of What Was Lost: Book One of the Licanius Trilogy
Author(s): James Islington
ISBN: 0-356-50775-0 / 978-0-356-50775-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


November 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Shadow of What Was Lost (The Licanius Trilogy)
Author(s): James Islington
ISBN: 0-316-27409-7 / 978-0-316-27409-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

May 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Shadow of What Was Lost: Book One of the Licanius Trilogy
Author(s): James Islington
ISBN: 0-356-50777-7 / 978-0-356-50777-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: DO NOT USE
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Shadow of What Was Lost (The Licanius Trilogy)
Author(s): James Islington
ISBN: 0-316-27407-0 / 978-0-316-27407-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


November 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Shadow of What Was Lost: Book One of the Licanius Trilogy
Author(s): James Islington
ISBN: 0-356-50776-9 / 978-0-356-50776-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: DO NOT USE
Availability: Amazon UK   


August 2014 : Australia Paperback
thumb

Title: The Shadow Of What Was Lost
Author(s): James Islington
ISBN: 0-9925802-0-X / 978-0-9925802-0-9 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Aslaradis Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

February 2015 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Shadow of What Was Lost: The Licanius Trilogy, Book 1
Author(s): James Islington
Publisher: Podium Publishing
Availability: Amazon   


February 2015 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Shadow of What Was Lost: The Licanius Trilogy, Book 1
Author(s): James Islington
Publisher: Podium Publishing
Availability: Amazon AU   


February 2015 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Shadow of What Was Lost: The Licanius Trilogy, Book 1
Author(s): James Islington
Publisher: Podium Publishing
Availability: Amazon CA   


February 2015 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Shadow of What Was Lost: The Licanius Trilogy, Book 1
Author(s): James Islington
Publisher: Podium Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

July 2016 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Shadow of What Was Lost (The Licanius Trilogy Book 1)
Author(s): James Islington
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon CA   


July 2016 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Shadow of What Was Lost: Book One of the Licanius Trilogy
Author(s): James Islington
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU