book cover of The Shadow Of What Was Lost
Added by 68 of our members

The Shadow Of What Was Lost

(2014)
(The first book in the Licanius Trilogy series)
A novel by

 
 
'A storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire' Guardian

AS DESTINY CALLS, A JOURNEY BEGINS


It has been twenty years since the god-like Augurs were overthrown and killed. Now, those who once served them - the Gifted - are spared only because they have accepted the rebellion's Four Tenets, vastly limiting their own powers.

As a young Gifted, Davian suffers the consequences of a war lost before he was even born. He and others like him are despised. But when Davian discovers he wields the forbidden powers of the Augurs, he sets in motion a chain of events that will change everything.

To the west, a young man whose fate is intertwined with Davian's wakes up in the forest, covered in blood and with no memory of who he is . . .

And in the far north, an ancient enemy long thought defeated, begins to stir.

The Licanius trilogy:
The Shadow of What Was Lost
An Echo of Things to Come
The Light of All That Falls


'Wonderful worldbuilding and terrific characters'Boingboing.net

'Will appeal to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong worldbuilding'Fantasy Faction

'Love the Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favourite series' Barnes & Noble SF and Fantasy Blog



Genre: Fantasy

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for James Islington's The Shadow Of What Was Lost

Hardback Editions

November 2016 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Shadow of What Was Lost: Book One of the Licanius Trilogy
Author(s): James Islington
ISBN: 0-356-50775-0 / 978-0-356-50775-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


November 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Shadow of What Was Lost (The Licanius Trilogy, 1)
Author(s): James Islington
ISBN: 0-316-27409-7 / 978-0-316-27409-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

May 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Shadow of What Was Lost: Book One of the Licanius Trilogy
Author(s): James Islington
ISBN: 0-356-50777-7 / 978-0-356-50777-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Shadow of What Was Lost (The Licanius Trilogy, 1)
Author(s): James Islington
ISBN: 0-316-27407-0 / 978-0-316-27407-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


November 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Shadow of What Was Lost: Book One of the Licanius Trilogy
Author(s): James Islington
ISBN: 0-356-50776-9 / 978-0-356-50776-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: DO NOT USE
Availability: Amazon UK   


August 2014 : Australia Paperback
thumb

Title: The Shadow Of What Was Lost
Author(s): James Islington
ISBN: 0-9925802-0-X / 978-0-9925802-0-9 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Aslaradis Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

February 2015 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Shadow of What Was Lost: The Licanius Trilogy, Book 1
Author(s): James Islington
Publisher: Podium Audio
Availability: Amazon   


February 2015 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Shadow of What Was Lost: The Licanius Trilogy, Book 1
Author(s): James Islington
Publisher: Podium Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


February 2015 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Shadow of What Was Lost: The Licanius Trilogy, Book 1
Author(s): James Islington
Publisher: Podium Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


February 2015 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Shadow of What Was Lost: The Licanius Trilogy, Book 1
Author(s): James Islington
Publisher: Podium Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

July 2016 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Shadow of What Was Lost (The Licanius Trilogy Book 1)
Author(s): James Islington
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon CA   


July 2016 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Shadow of What Was Lost: Book One of the Licanius Trilogy
Author(s): James Islington
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU