book cover of Are You Happy Now
Added by 3 members
 

Are You Happy Now

(2023)
A novel by

 
 
'One of the best novels of 2023' Sara Collins
'An eerie, fascinating and nihilistic triumph' Heather Darwent

-----

At a New York City wedding, on a sweltering summer night, four people are trying to be happy.

Yun has everything he ever wanted, but somehow it's never enough.
Emory is finally making her mark, but feels the shame more than the success.
Andrew is trying to be honest, but has lied to himself his whole life.
Fin can't resist falling in love, but can't help wrecking it all either.

And then the world begins to end. The four of them watch as one of the wedding guests sits down and refuses to get back up. Soon it's happening across the world. Is it a choice or an illness?

Because how can anyone be happy in a world where the only choice is to feel everything - or nothing at all?

An intensely compulsive novel for anyone who has ever felt hopeful and helpless in one breath,
ARE YOU HAPPY NOW is about how you keep living when the world is on fire. Perfect for fans of Emily John St. Mandel's Station Eleven, Kazuo Ishiguro's Never Let Me Go, Patricia Lockwood's Nobody is Talking About This and Naomi Alderman's The Power.

-----

PRAISE FOR HANNA JAMESON

'Such a brilliant concept, perfectly executed' Araminta Hall, Hidden Depths

'A compelling . . . meditation on fear, hope, grief and the difficulty of imagining a future in a world in crisis'The Bookseller

'Yun, Emory, Andrew & Fin buried themselves into my heart and I am still thinking about them' Nikki Smith, The Beach Party

'Extraordinary' Emily St John Mandel, Station Eleven

'One of those books you can't stop reading, but don't want to end' TM Logan, The Holiday

'Dark, compelling, original' CJ Tudor, The Burning Girls

'Compulsively readable' Daily Telegraph



Genre: Romance

Visitors also looked at these books




About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors