book cover of Something New Under the Sun
Added by 3 of our members
 

Something New Under the Sun

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
NEW YORK TIMES EDITORS’ CHOICE • A novelist discovers the dark side of Hollywood and reckons with ambition, corruption, and connectedness in the age of environmental collapse and ecological awakening—a darkly unsettling near-future novel for readers of Don DeLillo and Ottessa Moshfegh

ONE OF VULTURE’S BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR •ONE OF SUMMER’S BEST BOOKS: The Wall Street JournalTimeParadeLitHubVanity Fair • Vogue • Refinery29 • Esquire

“A darkly satirical reflection of ecological reality.”—Time
“Genius.”—Los Angeles Times

“Wildly entertaining and beautifully written.”—LitHub


East Coast novelist Patrick Hamlin has come to Hollywood with simple goals in mind: overseeing the production of a film adaptation of one of his books, preventing starlet Cassidy Carter's disruptive behavior from derailing said production, and turning this last-ditch effort at career resuscitation into the sort of success that will dazzle his wife and daughter back home. But California is not as he imagined: Drought, wildfire, and corporate corruption are omnipresent, and the company behind a mysterious new brand of synthetic water seems to be at the root of it all. Patrick partners with Cassidy—after having been her reluctant chauffeur for weeks—and the two of them investigate the sun-scorched city's darker crevices, where they discover that catastrophe resembles order until the last possible second.

In this often-witty and all-too-timely story, Alexandra Kleeman grapples with the corruption of our environment in the age of alternative facts. Something New Under the Sun is a meticulous and deeply felt accounting of our very human anxieties, liabilities, dependencies, and, ultimately, responsibility to truth.

Genre: Science Fiction

Praise for this book

"A richly rendered ecological novel, characterized not only by how it sets the landscape but also by the fact that the landscape is quite often allowed to run the show. Kleeman is phenomenal when it comes to place writing. Like many of the characters in her book, I got lost inside her scene-setting, arid and wild, happy to let her drive me wherever her genius brain thought we should go. This is a book I’ll be thinking about for years to come." - Kristen Arnett

"Alexandra Kleeman expertly conjures California noir filtered through the ambient and not-so-ambient apocalypse." - Emma Cline

"Written with tremendous verve and flair, Something New Under the Sun is both an urgent novel about our very near future and a deeply addictive pleasure. Constantly surprising and endlessly inventive, every page is saturated with wit, intelligence, and extraordinary prose. Kleeman is a phenomenon, one of the most brilliant and gifted writers at work today." - Katie Kitamura

"An immense achievement. A masterful and merciless skewering of our times, rendered with such grace I couldn't put it down." - Olivia Sudjic

"Kleeman’s LA-noir eco-parable kept me constantly guessing and reading on. Razor-sharp and disarmingly funny, this is a book for our post-truth world… or at least what’s left of it." - Jordan Tannahill

"A magnificent and stunning novel, by turns hilarious, satirical, moving, and so very, very much what we need in these uncertain times." - Jeff VanderMeer

"With this novel, Alexandra Kleeman confirms her place as one of the major writers of her generation. Reading it is like looking at a familiar room through warped glass: What you perceive is distorted and unsettling while remaining curiously beautiful." - Esmé Weijun Wang


Used availability for Alexandra Kleeman's Something New Under the Sun

Hardback Editions

August 2021 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Something New Under the Sun
Author(s): Alexandra Kleeman
ISBN: 0-00-833911-2 / 978-0-00-833911-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Fourth Estate
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


August 2021 : Hardback
thumb

Title: Something New Under the Sun: A Novel
Author(s): Alexandra Kleeman
ISBN: 1-984826-30-1 / 978-1-984826-30-5
Publisher: Hogarth
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

August 2022 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Something New Under the Sun
Author(s): Alexandra Kleeman
ISBN: 0-00-833912-0 / 978-0-00-833912-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Fourth Estate
Availability: Amazon UK   


August 2022 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Something New Under the Sun: A Novel
Author(s): Alexandra Kleeman
ISBN: 1-984826-32-8 / 978-1-984826-32-9
Publisher: Hogarth
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


August 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Something New Under the Sun
Author(s): Alexandra Kleeman
ISBN: 0-00-833908-2 / 978-0-00-833908-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Fourth Estate
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


August 2021 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Something New under the Sun: A Novel
Author(s): Alexandra Kleeman
ISBN: 0-593-44818-9 / 978-0-593-44818-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Hogarth
Availability: Amazon UK   


Audio Editions

August 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Something New Under the Sun
Author(s): Alexandra Kleeman
Publisher: Fourth Estate
Availability: Amazon   


August 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Something New Under the Sun
Author(s): Alexandra Kleeman
Publisher: Fourth Estate
Availability: Amazon AU   


August 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Something New Under the Sun: A Novel
Author(s): Alexandra Kleeman
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   


August 2021 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Something New Under the Sun: A Novel
Author(s): Alexandra Kleeman
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

August 2021 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Something New Under the Sun
Author(s): Alexandra Kleeman
Publisher: Fourth Estate
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


August 2021 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Something New Under the Sun: A Novel
Author(s): Alexandra Kleeman
Publisher: Hogarth
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA