book cover of Miracle Creek
Added by 4 of our members

Miracle Creek

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng about how far we'll go to protect our families - and our deepest secrets

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie. He probably didn't even consider it a lie, and neither did I, at first . . .

In rural Virginia, Young and Pak Yoo run an experimental medical treatment device known as the Miracle Submarine - a pressurized oxygen chamber that patients enter for therapeutic "dives" with the hopes of curing issues like autism or infertility. But when the Miracle Submarine mysteriously explodes, killing two people, a dramatic murder trial upends the Yoos' small community.

Who or what caused the explosion? Was it the mother of one of the patients, who claimed to be sick that day but was smoking down by the creek? Or was it Young and Pak themselves, hoping to cash in on a big insurance payment and send their daughter to college? The ensuing trial uncovers unimaginable secrets from that night - trysts in the woods, mysterious notes, child-abuse charges - as well as tense rivalries and alliances among a group of people driven to extraordinary degrees of desperation and sacrifice.

Angie Kim's Miracle Creek is a thoroughly contemporary take on the courtroom drama, drawing on the author's own life as a Korean immigrant, former trial lawyer, and mother of a real-life "submarine" patient. Both a compelling page-turner and an excavation of identity and the desire for connection, Miracle Creek is a brilliant, empathetic debut from an exciting new voice.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Miracle Creek is an engrossing puzzle-box of a book: a twisty courtroom drama that also manages to be emotionally astute, culturally perceptive, and deeply empathetic. Angie Kim tackles hot-button subjects with a delicate touch, proving herself a master of both portraiture and storytelling. I loved this novel." - Janelle Brown

"I know this story but have never seen it in a novel?the struggles of the Korean immigrant entrepreneur in America, with a technology that seems like magic, who can go from hero to villain in an instant, now at the center of what is possibly a murder?a bright seam of crisis, mystery, and love emerges in these pages. Kim has written a bold debut novel about science and immigration and the hopes and fears each engenders?unforgettable and true." - Alexander Chee

"Miracle Creek is a marvel, a taut courtroom thriller that ultimately tells the most human story imaginable, a story of good intentions and reckless passions. Compelling, generous, at once empathetic and unsparing. I am wrecked, I am heartened and hopeful, which means, in short, that Miracle Creek is pretty much the perfect novel for these chaotic times in which we live." - Laura Lippman

"Miracle Creek grabbed me hard right from the start. This is a terrific courtroom thriller, a sly whodunit that’s beautifully written and also full of heart." - Scott Turow


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Angie Kim's Miracle Creek

Hardback Editions

August 2019 : USA Library Binding

Title: Miracle Creek
Author(s): Angie Kim
ISBN: 1-4328-6703-2 / 978-1-4328-6703-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


July 2019 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Miracle Creek: A 'most anticipated' book of 2019
Author(s): Angie Kim
ISBN: 1-5293-7494-4 / 978-1-5293-7494-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Miracle Creek: A Novel
Author(s): Angie Kim
ISBN: 0-374-15602-6 / 978-0-374-15602-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Sarah Crichton Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

May 2020 : UK Paperback

Title: Miracle Creek: A 'most anticipated' book of 2019
Author(s): Angie Kim
ISBN: 1-5293-3541-8 / 978-1-5293-3541-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon UK   


April 2020 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Miracle Creek: A Novel
Author(s): Angie Kim
ISBN: 1-250-25130-3 / 978-1-250-25130-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Miracle Creek: A 'most anticipated' book of 2019
Author(s): Angie Kim
ISBN: 1-5293-3539-6 / 978-1-5293-3539-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   


Audio Editions

June 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Miracle Creek
Author(s): Angie Kim
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon AU   


June 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Miracle Creek
Author(s): Angie Kim
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   


April 2019 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Miracle Creek: A Novel
Author(s): Angie Kim
ISBN: 1-250-31950-1 / 978-1-250-31950-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Miracle Creek: A Novel
Author(s): Angie Kim
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   


April 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Miracle Creek: A Novel
Author(s): Angie Kim
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Miracle Creek: A Novel
Author(s): Angie Kim
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Miracle Creek: A 'most anticipated' book of 2019
Author(s): Angie Kim
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Miracle Creek: A Novel
Author(s): Angie Kim
Publisher: Sarah Crichton Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA