book cover of Miracle Creek
Added by 25 of our members
 

Miracle Creek

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
Awards
Anthony Awards Best First Novel (nominee)
Edgar Awards Best First Novel
My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie. He probably didn't even consider it a lie, and neither did I, at first . . .

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng about how far we'll go to protect our families, and our deepest secrets

WINNER OF THE EDGAR AWARD FOR BEST FIRST NOVEL BY AN AMERICAN AUTHOR

In rural Virginia, Young and Pak Yoo run an experimental medical treatment device known as the Miracle Submarine: a pressurized oxygen chamber that patients enter for "dives", used as an alternative therapy for conditions including autism or infertility. But when the Miracle Submarine mysteriously explodes, killing two people, a dramatic murder trial upends the Yoos' small community.

Who or what caused the explosion? Was it the mother of one of the patients, who claimed to be sick that day but was smoking down by the creek? Or was it Young and Pak themselves, hoping to cash in on a big insurance payment and send their daughter to college? The ensuing trial uncovers unimaginable secrets from that night - trysts in the woods, mysterious notes, child-abuse charges - as well as tense rivalries and alliances among a group of people driven to extraordinary degrees of desperation and sacrifice.

'Engrossing . . . Miracle Creek turns a courtroom murder trial into a page-turning exploration of parenting, experimental therapies, and the emotional toil of immigration' Elle

'A marvel, a taut courtroom thriller that ultimately tells the most human story imaginable, a story of good intentions and reckless passions. Compelling, generous, at once empathetic and unsparing . . . the perfect novel for these chaotic times in which we live' Laura Lippman

'Kim has written a bold debut novel about science and immigration and the hopes and fears each engenders - unforgettable and true' Alexander Chee

'Grabbed me hard right from the start. This is a terrific courtroom thriller, a sly whodunit that's beautifully written and also full of heart' Scott Turow




Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Miracle Creek is an engrossing puzzle-box of a book: a twisty courtroom drama that also manages to be emotionally astute, culturally perceptive, and deeply empathetic. Angie Kim tackles hot-button subjects with a delicate touch, proving herself a master of both portraiture and storytelling. I loved this novel." - Janelle Brown

"I know this story but have never seen it in a novel?the struggles of the Korean immigrant entrepreneur in America, with a technology that seems like magic, who can go from hero to villain in an instant, now at the center of what is possibly a murder?a bright seam of crisis, mystery, and love emerges in these pages. Kim has written a bold debut novel about science and immigration and the hopes and fears each engenders?unforgettable and true." - Alexander Chee

"Miracle Creek is a marvel, a taut courtroom thriller that ultimately tells the most human story imaginable, a story of good intentions and reckless passions. Compelling, generous, at once empathetic and unsparing. I am wrecked, I am heartened and hopeful, which means, in short, that Miracle Creek is pretty much the perfect novel for these chaotic times in which we live." - Laura Lippman

"Miracle Creek grabbed me hard right from the start. This is a terrific courtroom thriller, a sly whodunit that’s beautifully written and also full of heart." - Scott Turow


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Angie Kim's Miracle Creek

Hardback Editions

August 2019 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: Miracle Creek (Thorndike Press Large Print Core)
Author(s): Angie Kim
ISBN: 1-4328-6703-2 / 978-1-4328-6703-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2019 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Miracle Creek: Winner of the 2020 Edgar Award for best first novel
Author(s): Angie Kim
ISBN: 1-5293-7494-4 / 978-1-5293-7494-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Miracle Creek: A Novel
Author(s): Angie Kim
ISBN: 0-374-15602-6 / 978-0-374-15602-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Sarah Crichton Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

May 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Miracle Creek: Winner of the 2020 Edgar Award for best first novel
Author(s): Angie Kim
ISBN: 1-5293-3541-8 / 978-1-5293-3541-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2020 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Miracle Creek: A Novel
Author(s): Angie Kim
ISBN: 1-250-25130-3 / 978-1-250-25130-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Miracle Creek: Winner of the 2020 Edgar Award for best first novel
Author(s): Angie Kim
ISBN: 1-5293-3539-6 / 978-1-5293-3539-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

June 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Miracle Creek: Winner of the 2020 Edgar Award for best first novel
Author(s): Angie Kim
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon AU   


June 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Miracle Creek: Winner of the 2020 Edgar Award for best first novel
Author(s): Angie Kim
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   


April 2019 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Miracle Creek: A Novel
Author(s): Angie Kim
ISBN: 1-250-31950-1 / 978-1-250-31950-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Miracle Creek: A Novel
Author(s): Angie Kim
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   


April 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Miracle Creek: A Novel
Author(s): Angie Kim
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Miracle Creek: A Novel
Author(s): Angie Kim
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Miracle Creek: A Novel
Author(s): Angie Kim
Publisher: Sarah Crichton Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


April 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Miracle Creek: Winner of the 2020 Edgar Award for best first novel
Author(s): Angie Kim
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU