book cover of Death and a Pot of Chowder
Added by 9 of our members

Death and a Pot of Chowder

(2018)
(The first book in the Maine Murder Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
Maine’s Quarry Island has a tight-knit community that’s built on a rock-solid foundation of family, tradition and hard work. But even on this small island, where everyone knows their neighbors, there are secrets that no one would dare to whisper.

Anna Winslow, her husband Burt and their teenage son have deep roots on Quarry Island. Burt and his brother, Carl, are lobstermen, just like their father and grandfather before them. And while some things on the island never seem to change, Anna’s life is about to take some drastically unexpected turns. First, Anna discovers that she has a younger sister, Izzie Jordan. Then, on the day she drives to Portland to meet Izzie for the first time, Carl’s lobster boat is found abandoned and adrift. Later that evening, his corpse is discovered—but he didn’t drown.

Whether it was an accident or murder, Carl’s sudden death has plunged Anna’s existence into deadly waters. Despite barely knowing one another and coming from very different backgrounds, Anna and Izzie unite to find the killer. With their family in crisis, the sisters strive to uncover the secrets hidden in Quarry Island—and, perhaps, the ones buried within their own hearts.

Sure to be an intoxicating read for fans of Sarah Graves and Leslie Meier, Death and a Pot of Chowder is the first Maine Murder mystery by Cornelia Kidd.

Genre: Cozy Mystery

Praise for this book

"Delicious… Authentically set in Maine, Kidd has served up a delectable mystery!" - Daryl Wood Gerber

"A wicked good mystery brimming with family secrets, authentic characters, a rustic Maine island setting, and plenty of good food. You can practically smell the salt air and taste the lobster rolls." - B B Haywood

"Readers are going to devour Cornelia Kidd's delicious debut mystery with enthusiasm and a reluctance to put it down... A five-star hit!" - Edith Maxwell

"Death and a Pot of Chowder is a savory summer delight. Cornelia Kidd has dished up a murderous treat in this page-turning mystery." - Nancy J Parra

"Compelling…I couldn’t put it down." - Barbara Ross

"Life and death on Quarry Island, Maine are welcoming and terrifying…Kidd serves up a compelling mystery along with a taste of life on Quarry Island. I couldn’t put it down!" - Linda Wiken


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Brush with Death
(Gray Whale Inn Mystery, book 5)
Karen MacInerney
thumb
Confession Is Murder
(Lucille Mystery, book 1)
Peg Cochran
thumb
Final Sentence
(Cookbook Nook Mystery, book 1)
Daryl Wood Gerber
thumb
Dead and Breakfast
(Merry Ghost Inn Mystery, book 1)
Kate Kingsbury

Used availability for Cornelia Kidd's Death and a Pot of Chowder

Hardback Editions

June 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Death and a Pot of Chowder: A Maine Murder Mystery
Author(s): Cornelia Kidd
ISBN: 1-68331-583-9 / 978-1-68331-583-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

June 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Death and a Pot of Chowder: A Maine Murder Mystery
Author(s): Cornelia Kidd
ISBN: 1-64385-029-6 / 978-1-64385-029-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

September 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Death and a Pot of Chowder
Author(s): Cornelia Kidd
ISBN: 1-974975-48-7 / 978-1-974975-48-8
Publisher: Dreamscape Media Llc
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Death and a Pot of Chowder (A Maine Murder Mystery)
Author(s): Cornelia Kidd
ISBN: 1-974975-52-5 / 978-1-974975-52-5
Publisher: Dreamscape Media Llc
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Death and a Pot of Chowder: A Maine Murder Mystery
Author(s): Cornelia Kidd
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon   


August 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Death and a Pot of Chowder: A Maine Murder Mystery
Author(s): Cornelia Kidd
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon AU   


August 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Death and a Pot of Chowder: A Maine Murder Mystery
Author(s): Cornelia Kidd
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon CA   


August 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Death and a Pot of Chowder: A Maine Murder Mystery
Author(s): Cornelia Kidd
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

June 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Death and a Pot of Chowder: A Maine Murder Mystery
Author(s): Cornelia Kidd
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU