book cover of She Came to Stay

She Came to Stay

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
'An atmospheric page-turner perfectly set in the smoke and glitter of a vanished world . . . gripping' - Erin Kelly, bestselling author of He Said/She Said

In a city of strangers, who can you trust?

London, 1952. Dina Demetriou has travelled from Cyprus for a better life. She's certain that excitement, adventure and opportunity are out there, waiting - if only she knew where to look.

Her passion for clothes and flair for sewing land her a job repairing the glittering costumes at the notorious Pelican Revue. It's here that she befriends the mysterious and beautiful Bebba.

With her bleached-blonde hair and an appetite for mischief, Bebba is like no Greek Dina has ever met before. She guides Dina around the fashionable shops, bars and clubs of Soho, and Dina finally feels life has begun.

But Bebba has a secret. And as thick smog brings the city to a standstill, the truth emerges with devastating results. Dina's new life now hangs by a thread. What will be left when the fog finally clears? And will Dina be willing to risk everything to protect her future?

A story of friendship, family, love and loss set against the grimy and glittering streets of fifties Soho. For fans of Kate Furnivall and Rachel Rhys.

Further praise for SHE CAME TO STAY:

'Compelling and beautifully observed. Kyriacou brilliantly evokes the violence and the grime beneath the sequins and surface glamour of 1950s Soho' - Rachel Rhys, bestselling author of Dangerous Crossing

'I absolutely loved it. A gripping, enthralling story . . . I was completely engrossed' - Laura Marshall, bestselling author of Friend Request

'An absorbing story of friendship, betrayal and resilience' - Sarah Maine, bestselling author of Beyond the Wild River

'A gripping, evocative story . . . well researched and utterly convincing. A real gem of a book' - Gill Paul, bestselling author of The Lost Daughter

'An evocative page-turner full of memorable characters. A wonderful debut' - Jenny Quintana, author of The Missing Girl

Readers are loving SHE CAME TO STAY, too!

'I can highly recommend this book. You will be hooked from start to finish.' 5 STARS

'A cracking storyline packed with secrets, as well as unexpected twists and turns make this, cliche or no, a proper page-turner.' 5 STARS

'A brilliant read.' 5 STARS

'The plot moves quickly and is gripping. I didn't want to put the book down but then was sorry to leave the characters and their London haunts behind when I got to the end.' 5 STARS

'A really enjoyable read.' 5 STARS

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"She Came To Stay is a gripping story about friendship, family and the meaning of home. An atmospheric page-turner perfectly set in the smoke and glitter of a vanished world." - Erin Kelly

"An absorbing story of friendship, betrayal and resilience amongst the immigrant community where the struggle for survival brings out the best - and the worst - in characters who choose conflicting, often dangerous, ways to get ahead in a post war London." - Sarah Maine

"I absolutely loved it - a gripping, enthralling story with characters I loved (and hated!), and so atmospheric, I was completely engrossed in the world of 1950s Soho." - Laura Marshall

"A gripping, evocative story of the dangers facing a young Cypriot girl in 1950s Soho. Even breathing the air is a risk as the great smog descends. The descriptions of the louche world of cafés and strip clubs are well researched and utterly convincing. It's a real gem of a book." - Gill Paul

"Set in the dazzling world of 1950s Soho, She Came to Stay is an evocative page-turner full of memorable characters who stayed inside my head long after I had finished reading. Eleni Kyriacou has written a wonderful debut." - Jenny Quintana

"Compelling and beautifully observed. Kyriacou brilliantly evokes the violence and the grime beneath the sequins and surface glamour of 1950s Soho." - Rachel Rhys


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Eleni Kyriacou's She Came to Stay

Hardback Editions

March 2020 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: She Came to Stay: A page-turning novel of friendship, secrets and lies, set against the grimy and glittering streets of 1950s Soho
Author(s): Eleni Kyriacou
ISBN: 1-5293-3767-4 / 978-1-5293-3767-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

December 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: She Came to Stay: A page-turning novel of friendship, secrets and lies, set against the grimy and glittering streets of 1950s Soho
Author(s): Eleni Kyriacou
ISBN: 1-5293-3769-0 / 978-1-5293-3769-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

March 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: She Came to Stay
Author(s): Eleni Kyriacou
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon   


March 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: She Came to Stay
Author(s): Eleni Kyriacou
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon AU   


March 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: She Came to Stay
Author(s): Eleni Kyriacou
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

March 2020 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: She Came to Stay: A page-turning novel of friendship, secrets and lies, set against the grimy and glittering streets of 1950s Soho
Author(s): Eleni Kyriacou
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


March 2020 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: She Came to Stay: A page-turning novel of friendship, secrets and lies, set against the grimy and glittering streets of 1950s Soho
Author(s): Eleni Kyriacou
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU