book cover of The Calligrapher\'s Daughter
Added by 3 of our members

The Calligrapher's Daughter

(2009)
A novel by

 
 
A sweeping debut novel, inspired by the life of the author's mother, about a young woman who dares to fight for a brighter future in occupied Korea

In early-twentieth-century Korea, Najin Han, the privileged daughter of a calligrapher, longs to choose her own destiny. Smart and headstrong, she is encouraged by her mother - but her stern father is determined to maintain tradition, especially as the Japanese steadily gain control of his beloved country. When he seeks to marry Najin into an aristocratic family, her mother defies generations of obedient wives and instead sends her to serve in the king's court as a companion to a young princess. But the king is soon assassinated, and the centuries-old dynastic culture comes to its end.

In the shadow of the dying monarchy, Najin begins a journey through increasing oppression that will forever change her world. As she desperately seeks to continue her education, will the unexpected love she finds along the way be enough to sustain her through the violence and subjugation her country continues to face? Spanning thirty years, The Calligrapher's Daughter is a richly drawn novel in the tradition of Lisa See and Amy Tan about a country torn between ancient customs and modern possibilities, a family ultimately united by love, and a woman who never gives up her search for freedom.

Genre: Historical

Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Loner
(Secret Fires, book 3)
Evelyn Rogers

Used availability for Eugenia Kim's The Calligrapher's Daughter

Hardback Editions

August 2009 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Calligrapher's Daughter: A Novel
Author(s): Eugenia Kim
ISBN: 0-8050-8912-8 / 978-0-8050-8912-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

November 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Calligrapher's Daughter
Author(s): Eugenia Kim
ISBN: 1-5266-0866-9 / 978-1-5266-0866-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


March 2010 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Calligrapher's Daughter: A Novel
Author(s): Eugenia Kim
ISBN: 0-8050-9226-9 / 978-0-8050-9226-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


December 2009 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Calligrapher's Daughter
Author(s): Eugenia Kim
ISBN: 1-4088-0618-5 / 978-1-4088-0618-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

July 2014 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Calligrapher's Daughter
Author(s): Eugenia Kim
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing
Availability: Amazon   


July 2014 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Calligrapher's Daughter
Author(s): Eugenia Kim
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing
Availability: Amazon AU   


July 2014 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Calligrapher's Daughter
Author(s): Eugenia Kim
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing
Availability: Amazon CA   


July 2014 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Calligrapher's Daughter
Author(s): Eugenia Kim
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   


January 2011 : UK Audio CD

Title: The Calligrapher's Daughter
Author(s): Eugenia Kim
ISBN: 0-85735-122-2 / 978-0-85735-122-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing Limited
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


November 2010 : UK Audio Cassette

Title: The Calligrapher's Daughter
Author(s): Eugenia Kim
ISBN: 0-85735-121-4 / 978-0-85735-121-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   


August 2009 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Calligrapher's Daughter: A Novel
Author(s): Eugenia Kim
ISBN: 1-4001-4354-3 / 978-1-4001-4354-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2009 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Calligrapher's Daughter: A Novel
Author(s): Eugenia Kim
ISBN: 1-4001-1354-7 / 978-1-4001-1354-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tantor Media, Inc
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2009 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Calligrapher's Daughter: A Novel
Author(s): Eugenia Kim
ISBN: 1-4001-6354-4 / 978-1-4001-6354-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

October 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Calligrapher's Daughter: A Novel
Author(s): Eugenia Kim
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


January 2013 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Calligrapher's Daughter
Author(s): Eugenia Kim
Publisher: Bloomsbury Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU