book cover of Things in Jars
Added by 43 of our members

Things in Jars

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
In this “miraculous and thrilling” (Diane Setterfield, #1 New York Times bestselling author) mystery for fans of The Essex Serpent and The Book of Speculation, Victorian London comes to life as an intrepid female sleuth wades through a murky world of collectors and criminals to recover a remarkable child.

Bridie Devine—flame-haired, pipe-smoking detective extraordinaire—is confronted with the most baffling puzzle yet: the kidnapping of Christabel Berwick, secret daughter of Sir Edmund Athelstan Berwick, and a peculiar child whose reputed supernatural powers have captured the unwanted attention of collectors in this age of discovery.

Winding her way through the sooty streets of Victorian London, Bridie won’t rest until she finds the young girl, even if it means unearthing secrets about her past that she’d rather keep buried. Luckily, her search is aided by an enchanting cast of characters, including a seven-foot-tall housemaid; a melancholic, tattoo-covered ghost; and an avuncular apothecary. But secrets abound in this foggy underworld where nothing is quite what it seems.

Blending darkness and light, Things in Jars is a stunning, “richly woven tapestry of fantasy, folklore, and history” (Booklist, starred review) that explores what it means to be human in inhumane times.


Genre: Historical Mystery

Praise for this book

"Jess Kidd's stories are so magical, she should be a genre all to herself ... Things in Jars is exquisite. Perfect storytelling." - Joanna Cannon

"hings in Jars drew me in from the first sentence and held me, transfixed. Utterly beguiling and original, Jess Kidd writes so beautifully that every sentence was a delight. This novel deserves to soar." - Holly Cave

"A masterclass in storytelling. One of those books that truly does make you laugh out loud, that shakes and remakes what you think a story can be. It's rare to find a book so satisfying." - Kiran Millwood Hargrave

"Things in Jars is an extraordinary tale full of dark magic, wicked humour, and hugely entertaining characters all of whom are beautifully drawn. An absolute treat!." - Ruth Hogan

"The murky grotesqueries of Victorian London. The misfits, miscreants and monsters. The tenderness found in the most unexpected of places. I savoured every page of Things in Jars." - Claire McGlasson

"Thrilling, mysterious, twisted but more than anything, beautifully written and filled to bursting point with heart." - Graham Norton

"Miraculous and thrilling . . . A few pages in and I was determined to read every word Jess Kidd has ever written." - Diane Setterfield

"A perfect mix of hilarity, the macabre, and a touch of romance, THINGS IN JARS is ridiculously entertaining, all as it sneaks up and makes you feel things. Would that more books had such daring. The language is perfection. Simply: Jess Kidd is so good it isn't fair." - Erika Swyler


Used availability for Jess Kidd's Things in Jars

Hardback Editions

January 2021 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: Things in Jars (Thorndike Press Large Print Reviewers Choice)
Author(s): Jess Kidd
ISBN: 1-4328-8032-2 / 978-1-4328-8032-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2020 : Hardback
thumb

Title: Things in Jars: A Novel
Author(s): Jess Kidd
ISBN: 1-982121-28-9 / 978-1-982121-28-0
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Things in Jars
Author(s): Jess Kidd
ISBN: 1-78689-376-2 / 978-1-78689-376-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Canongate Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

September 2020 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Things in Jars: A Novel
Author(s): Jess Kidd
ISBN: 1-982121-29-7 / 978-1-982121-29-7
Publisher: Washington Square Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Things in Jars: Jess Kidd
Author(s): Jess Kidd
ISBN: 1-78689-377-0 / 978-1-78689-377-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Canongate Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


January 2020 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Things in Jars
Author(s): Jess Kidd
ISBN: 1-982145-12-9 / 978-1-982145-12-5
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Canada
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Things in Jars
Author(s): Jess Kidd
ISBN: 1-78689-375-4 / 978-1-78689-375-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Canongate Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

February 2020 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Things in Jars: A Novel
Author(s): Jess Kidd
ISBN: 1-5082-9949-8 / 978-1-5082-9949-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Things in Jars: A Novel
Author(s): Jess Kidd
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon   


February 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Things in Jars: A Novel
Author(s): Jess Kidd
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2019 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: Things in Jars
Author(s): Jess Kidd
ISBN: 1-5288-6193-0 / 978-1-5288-6193-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: W F Howes Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Things in Jars
Author(s): Jess Kidd
Publisher: W. F. Howes Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


April 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Things in Jars
Author(s): Jess Kidd
Publisher: W. F. Howes Ltd
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Things in Jars
Author(s): Jess Kidd
Publisher: W. F. Howes Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

February 2020 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Things in Jars: A Novel
Author(s): Jess Kidd
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


April 2019 : Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Things in Jars
Author(s): Jess Kidd
Publisher: Canongate Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU