Kiran Millwood Hargrave's picture

Kiran Millwood Hargrave

UK flag (b.1990)

Kiran Millwood Hargrave was born in Surrey in 1990, and her earliest ambition was to be a cat, closely followed by a cat-owner or the first woman on Mars. She has achieved only one of these things, but discovered that being a writer lets you imagine whatever you want.She started writing poetry in her final year at university, producing three poetry books and a play before she turned to fiction. Her bestselling debut The Girl of Ink & Stars, about a mapmaker’s daughter who must save her island, won the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize 2017 and the British Book Awards Children’s Book of the Year. Her second standalone story, The Island at the End of Everything, was shortlisted for the Blue Peter Book Award and the Costa Children’s Book Award, and long listed for the CILIP Carnegie Medal. Her third book, The Way Past Winter, was the Blackwell’s Children’s Book of the Year 2018.

Her debut YA title, The Deathless Girls, is forthcoming from Hachette in September. Her first book for adults, The Mercies, was subject to a 13-way auction and will be published by Picador in February 2020.Kiran lives in Oxford with her husband, the artist Tom de Freston, and the fulfilment of one of her earliest ambitions: their cat, Luna.


Genres: Children's Fiction, Historical, Horror, Young Adult Fantasy
New and upcoming books
   The Girl of Ink & Stars (2016)
     aka The Cartographer's Daughter
   The Island at the End of Everything (2017)
   The Way Past Winter (2018)
   The Deathless Girls (2019)
   The Mercies (2020)
   A Secret of Birds & Bone (2020)
   Julia and the Shark (2021)
   The Dance Tree (2022)
   Leila and the Blue Fox (2022)
   Last March (poems) (2012)
   Make More Noise! (2018) (with others)
   The Haunting Season (2021) (with others)
   The Winter Spirits (2023) (with others)
Kiran Millwood Hargrave recommends
Madame Matisse (2025)
Sophie Haydock
"Utterly compelling."
Onyeka and the Heroes of the Dawn (2024)
(Onyeka, book 3)
Tọlá Okogwu
"The superhero you've been waiting for."
A Drop of Golden Sun (2024)
Kate Saunders
"This took me back to childhood. I love and admire many books, but few truly transport me to that place of gleeful delight. A Drop of Golden Sun is radiant storytelling, nuanced and exuberant. Sublime."

More recommendations 

Jhalak Prize Best Book nominee (2016) : The Girl of Ink & Stars
Costa Children's Book Award Best Book nominee (2017) : The Island at the End of Everything
Blue Peter Book Award Best Book nominee (2018) : The Island at the End of Everything
YA Book Prize Best Young Adult nominee (2020) : The Deathless Girls

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors