book cover of Every Now and Then
Added by 11 of our members

Every Now and Then

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
For fans of Where the Crawdads Sing and This Tender Land

comes a heartfelt story about three young girls searching for adventure during the summer of 1960 from the New York Times bestselling author of Whistling in the Dark.


That summer would change us . . . forever.

The summer of 1960 was the hottest ever for Summit, Wisconsin. For kids seeking relief from the heat, there was a creek to be swum in, sprinklers to run through, and ice cream at Whitcomb's Drugstore. But for Frankie, Viv, and Biz, eleven-year-old best friends, it would forever be remembered as the summer that evil paid a visit to their small town--and took their young lives as they'd known them as a souvenir.

With a to-do list in hand, the girls set forth from their hideout to make their mark on that summer, but when three patients escape from Broadhurst Mental Institution, their idyllic lives take a sinister turn. Determined to uncover long-held secrets, the girls have no idea that what they discover could cost them their lives and the ones they hold dear.

Six decades later, Biz, now a bestselling novelist, remembers that long ago summer and how it still haunts her and her lifelong friends in Every Now and Then, a story about the ties that bind us, the timelessness of grief and guilt--and the everlasting hope for redemption.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Kagen deftly illustrates her gift for blending the serious and the funny, the light and the dark. As a reader, I feel safe in her hands." - Diane Chamberlain

"Lesley Kagen’s Every Now and Then ticks all the best boxes. Bygone small-town life so well described you can taste it? Check! Three BFF girlfriends scraping knees and taking names and having the summer of their eleven-year-old lives? Check! Compelling escapades featuring the likes of mental institutions, escaped murderers, and witches? Check! This novel is delightful and the perfect summer read." - Laurie Frankel

"Kagen’s trademark blend of childhood curiosity and hidden mysteries shines in this richly imagined coming-of-age adventure. In the sweltering summer heat of 1960, three young friends become entangled in secrets and life-threatening evil that shakes their small Wisconsin town to its core and impacts their lives forever." - Beth Hoffman

"A rollicking good read!" - Ellen Marie Wiseman


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Lesley Kagen's Every Now and Then

Paperback Editions

October 2020 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Every Now and Then: A Novel
Author(s): Lesley Kagen
ISBN: 1-64385-354-6 / 978-1-64385-354-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Alcove Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

October 2020 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Every Now and Then
Author(s): Lesley Kagen
ISBN: 1-66204-801-7 / 978-1-66204-801-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Dreamscape Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 2020 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Every Now and Then
Author(s): Lesley Kagen
ISBN: 1-66204-434-8 / 978-1-66204-434-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Dreamscape Media Llc
Availability: Amazon UK   


October 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Every Now and Then
Author(s): Lesley Kagen
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon   


October 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Every Now and Then
Author(s): Lesley Kagen
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon CA   


October 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Every Now and Then
Author(s): Lesley Kagen
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

October 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Every Now and Then: A Novel
Author(s): Lesley Kagen
Publisher: Alcove Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU