Karen White's picture
Followed by 25 of our members

Karen White


USA flag

After playing hooky one day in the seventh grade to read Gone With The Wind, Karen White knew she wanted to be a writer --- or become Scarlett O'Hara. In spite of these aspirations, Karen pursued a degree in business and graduated cum laude with a BS in Management from Tulane University. Ten years later, after leaving the business world, she fulfilled her dream of becoming a writer and wrote her first book. In the Shadow of the Moon was published in August, 2000. This book was nominated for the prestigious RITA award in 2001 in two separate categories.


 
Karen White recommends
thumb
Silent Lies (2005)
(Leo Hoffman, book 1)
M L Malcolm
"A sweeping saga... Brilliantly researched and beautifully written."
thumb
Dandelion Summer (2011)
(Blue Sky Hills, book 4)
Lisa Wingate
"A rare gem of a book."
thumb
Overseas (2012)
Beatriz Williams
"Irresistible. A memorable story of timeless love."
thumb
The Garden of Small Beginnings (2017)
Abbi Waxman
"Brilliant...Quirky yet very real characters sparkle on every page."
thumb
When We Were Worthy (2017)
Marybeth Mayhew Whalen
"Heart-wrenching and vivid."
thumb
Last Christmas in Paris (2017)
Hazel Gaynor and Heather Webb
"For fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society comes another terrific epistolary historical novel that is simply unputdownable."
thumb
The English Wife (2018)
Lauren Willig
"The English Wife by Lauren Willig is a gorgeous gem of a novel. Part historical fiction, part mystery, and part dual love story, this book is full of engaging characters, flawless writing, and a twisty plot that will keep the reader guessing until the last page. Willig mesmerizes with clever dialog and unexpected plot reveals, promising another fantastic read for her many fans, and a perfect introduction to new readers. This will go on my keeper shelf along with my entire Lauren Willig collection!"
thumb
The Broken Girls (2018)
Simone St James
"Part hauntingly gothic and part suspenseful crime drama, The Broken Girls is a bona fide page-turner. This story of friendship, revenge and redemption will make readers of women's fiction rejoice, and the addition of romance and a particularly nasty ghost are intriguing elements that don't detract from the beautiful writing or the heart of the book."
thumb
Flying At Night (2018)
Rebecca L Brown
"A gorgeously written book. Told with impeccable clarity and insight, the author doesn’t pull any punches, but instead of wincing, the reader finds herself nodding with understanding and compassion. Piper is a flawed yet very relatable heroine stumbling over seemingly insurmountable obstacles, and readers will cheer for her as she finds her own voice and strength to move forward. Alternating points of view are expertly done, filling in the missing pieces to create a wonderful and emotionally engaging read."
thumb
My Dear Hamilton (2018)
Stephanie Dray and Laura Kamoie
"No study of Alexander Hamilton would be complete without reading this book [...] Full of history, engaging characters who shimmer on each page, and a tremendous love story, this is a book for everyone."
thumb
Rush (2018)
Lisa Patton
"Lisa Patton's characteristic wit and sass along with richly drawn and authentically Southern characters are brilliantly showcased in RUSH. Patton places a magnifying glass over the glorified institution of sorority rush in the South, giving the reader an enlightening and lively look at all the goings-on, highlighting the good and the not-so-good aspects of Greek life. Part social commentary on race and economic differences, and part heartwarming and hear-tugging family drama, RUSH is ultimately a story about finding one's personal source of strength to fight the status quo, and about finding forgiveness in the most unexpected places. A fun and invigorating read--I highly recommend!"

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors