book cover of It Sounded Better in My Head
Added by 7 of our members

It Sounded Better in My Head

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
From debut author Nina Kenwood comes a tender and funny novel about first love and its confusions, and all of the awkwardness of teen romance.

When her parents announce their impending divorce, Natalie can’t understand why no one is fighting, or at least mildly upset. Then Zach and Lucy, her two best friends, hook up, leaving her feeling slightly miffed and decidedly awkward. She’d always imagined she would end up with Zach one day—in the version of her life that played out like a TV show, with just the right amount of banter, pining, and meaningful looks. Now everything has changed, and nothing is quite making sense. Until an unexpected romance comes along and shakes things up even further.

It Sounded Better in My Head is a compulsively readable love letter to teenage romance in all of its awkward glory, perfect for fans of Booksmart, To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, and Emergency Contact.

Genre: Young Adult Romance

Praise for this book

"I am all-caps OBSESSED with this achingly insightful, utterly charming, beautiful heart-punch of a book. Instant favorite." - Becky Albertalli

"Beautiful, funny, real and supremely honest. This book is DELICIOUS." - Claire Christian

"An adorably awkward and real romance. It was love at first chapter for me." - Emily Gale

"I loved this delightful, funny, big-hearted book." - Michelle Ruiz Keil

"I love, love, loved it." - Melina Marchetta


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Nina Kenwood's It Sounded Better in My Head

Hardback Editions

April 2020 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: It Sounded Better in My Head
Author(s): Nina Kenwood
ISBN: 1-250-21926-4 / 978-1-250-21926-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Flatiron Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

April 2021 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: It Sounded Better in My Head
Author(s): Nina Kenwood
ISBN: 1-250-21928-0 / 978-1-250-21928-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Flatiron Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: It Sounded Better In My Head
Author(s): Nina Kenwood
ISBN: 1-911231-32-4 / 978-1-911231-32-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Text Publishing Company
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


August 2019 : Australia Paperback
thumb

Title: It Sounded Better in My Head
Author(s): Nina Kenwood
ISBN: 1-925773-91-4 / 978-1-925773-91-0 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Text Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

April 2020 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: It Sounded Better in My Head
Author(s): Nina Kenwood
ISBN: 1-250-22783-6 / 978-1-250-22783-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Macmillan Young Listeners
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: It Sounded Better in My Head
Author(s): Nina Kenwood
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   


April 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: It Sounded Better in My Head
Author(s): Nina Kenwood
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

April 2020 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: It Sounded Better in My Head
Author(s): Nina Kenwood
Publisher: Flatiron Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


August 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: It Sounded Better in My Head
Author(s): Nina Kenwood
Publisher: Text Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU