Randall Kenan's picture

Randall Kenan

USA flag (1963 - 2020)

Randall Kenan was an American author of fiction and nonfiction. Raised in a rural community in North Carolina, Kenan focused his fiction on what it means to be black and gay in the southern United States. Among his books is the collection of short stories Let the Dead Bury Their Dead, which was named a New York Times Notable Book in 1992. Kenan was the recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship, a Whiting Writers Award and the John Dos Passos Prize.

Genres: Literary Fiction

Non fiction
Randall Kenan recommends
Black Bottom Saints (2020)
Alice Randall
"Alice Randall has done it again! Black Bottom Saints sneaks up on you--telling you the rich story of Black Michigan and Black Detroit in a way that has never been told before. Detroit is not just Motown. Detroit is a stronghold of black America and black culture. This book tells the story. The characters, so rich, the story so strong, so complex. This book is instantly an American classic. Randall is at the top of her form."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors