Caitlin R Kiernan's picture

Caitlín R Kiernan

(Caitlín Rebekah Kiernan)
Ireland (b.1964)

aka Kathleen Tierney

Caitlin R. Kiernan was born near Dublin, Ireland, but has spent most of her life in the southeastern United States. In college, she studied zoology, geology, and palaeontology, and has been employed as a vertebrate palaeontologist and college-level biology instructor.

Genres: Horror, Fantasy
Non fiction
   Trilobite (2003)
Anthologies containing stories by Caitlín R Kiernan
Short stories
To This Water (Johnstown, Pennsylvania 1889)
Two Worlds, and In Between
The Comedy of St. Jehanne d'Arc (1995)
Anamorphosis (1996)
Bela's Plot (1996)
Escape Artist (1996)
Giants in the Earth (1996)
Stoker's Mistress (1996)
Tears Seven Times Salt (1996)
Emptiness Spoke Eloquent (1997)
Estate (1997)
Found Angels (1998) (with Christa Faust)
The King of Birds (1998)
Postcards from the King of Tides (1998)
The Long Hall On the Top Floor (1999)
Valentia (2000)

Bram Stoker Best First Novel nominee (1999) : Silk
World Fantasy Best Collection nominee (2006) : To Charles Fort, with Love
World Fantasy Best Novel nominee (2010) : The Red Tree
Bram Stoker Best Novel winner (2012) : The Drowning Girl
James Tiptree, Jr. Award Best Book winner (2012) : The Drowning Girl
Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature Best Book nominee (2013) : The Drowning Girl
Nebula Awards Best Novel nominee (2013) : The Drowning Girl
World Fantasy Best Novel nominee (2013) : The Drowning Girl

Caitlín R Kiernan recommends
Passing Strange (2017)
Ellen Klages
"With Passing Strange, Ellen Klages has spun a marvelously gritty tale of the bad old days, deftly weaving a tapestry from bittersweet nostalgia, magic, weirdness, romance, and the ugly truth of being queer in San Francisco at the dawn of WWII. It earns my highest compliment: I wanted more."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors