Ben Lerner's picture

Ben Lerner

USA flag (b.1979)

Born in Topeka, Kansas, in 1979, Ben Lerner is the author of three books of poetry The Lichtenberg Figures, Angle of Yaw, and Mean Free Path. He has been a finalist for the National Book Award and the Northern California Book Award, a Fulbright Scholar in Spain, and the recipient of a 2010-2011 Howard Foundation Fellowship. In 2011 he became the first American to win the Preis der Stadt Münster für Internationale Poesie. Leaving the Atocha Station is his first novel.

Genres: Literary Fiction
   The Lichtenberg Figures (poems) (2004)
   Angle of Yaw (poems) (2006)
   Mean Free Path (poems) (2010)
   No Art (poems) (2016)
Non fiction
Rathbone Folio Prize Best Book nominee (2015) : 10:04
Pulitzer Prize for Fiction Best Book nominee (2020) : The Topeka School

Ben Lerner recommends
Weather (2020)
Jenny Offill
"Jenny Offill writes beautiful sentences; she is also a deft curator of silences. It's this counterpoint of eloquence and felt absence that enables her to register the emotional and political weather of our present."
The Book of Mother (2021)
Violaine Huisman
"Violaine Huisman summons her late mother's voice in order to speak with and through and for her. The result is a charged portrait of a vibrant and destructive woman as imagined by the daughter who believed it was her job to save her. The prose has the unmistakable urgency and authority of love, producing an homage without idealization, an elegy without false consolation. The Book of Mother is at once an act of radical identification and a way of letting go."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors