A shot in the dark...

O'Connor, a lone wanderer of the plains, finds himself rescuing an old man and his daughter from being driven out of their frontier town, Stampede, by land-grabbers.

The Sorensen family duo have been circulating a newspaper around the settlement since they arrived.

They are eager to raise the profile of Kiowa rights to land, but it also lead to them ruffling the feathers of those who would rather the truth remain hidden.

Murder, corruption, mutiny and greed all come up against the fight for truth, justice, diplomacy and peace.

O'Connor has blood links to the Kiowa tribe, but is that enough for trust to be built between them?

Will the Kiowa and the white man fight against each other in the end, or side by side?

Can peace be restored to Stampede County before more heads stop lead?

Stampede County is a gritty, atmospheric western that would be perfect for fans of Zane Grey and Larry McMurty.

Praise for Gordon Landsborough



'A punchy tale coupled with plenty of action - an engaging read!' - Philip McCormac, bestselling western author

Gordon Landsborough (1913-1984) was a publisher, author and bookseller. Writing tales about the exploits of gun-toting cowboys fighting out on the arid sands of the Wild West, Landsborough was himself a pioneering in the English paperback publishing world of the 1950s. He was widely known amongst his peers as the 'maverick publishing genius'. His other western adventures include Battle at Broken Knee, Flaming Frontier, Union Soldier, The Stolen Bounty and Secret of the Cannon.



Similar books by other authors

thumb
Apache Country
Walt Masterson

Used availability for Gordon Landsborough's Stampede County

Hardback Editions

May 2003 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Stampede County (Black Horse Western)
Author(s): Gordon Landsborough
ISBN: 0-7090-7312-7 / 978-0-7090-7312-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Robert Hale Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

August 2016 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Stampede County
Author(s): Gordon Landsborough
ISBN: 1-5369-0546-1 / 978-1-5369-0546-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

June 2016 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Stampede County
Author(s): Gordon Landsborough
Publisher: Endeavour Frontier
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA