book cover of The Floating Cafe

The Floating Cafe

And Other Stories
A collection of stories by

THE FLOATING CAFE is the third collection by Margery Lawrence to be published by Ash-Tree Press, following the two 'round table' books of ghostly and horrific tales, NIGHTS OF THE ROUND TABLE and THE TERRACES OF NIGHT. A 'round table' collection in all but name, this book contains twelve stories of the weird, fantastic, and supernatural, but dispenses with the somewhat awkward linking framework of the dining club setting which loosely connected the stories in the first two collections.

Originally published in the autumn of 1936, THE FLOATING CAFE was reprinted no less than four times between then and 1947. Although 27,000 copies of this very popular collection were published to meet demand from the reading public, it is now exceptionally rare in any edition, and Ash-Tree is pleased to make this volume available again, after being out of print for more than half a century. From the mysterious sea creatures of the title story to a sacrificial mask with other-worldly powers, the collection shows Lawrence at the top of her form as a writer of weird tales.

Genre: Horror

Used availability for Margery Lawrence's The Floating Cafe

Hardback Editions

September 2001 : Canada Hardback

Title: The floating cafe and other weird tales
Author(s): Margery Lawrence
ISBN: 1-55310-025-5 / 978-1-55310-025-6 (Canada edition)
Publisher: Ash Tree Pr
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

Kindle Editions

February 2013 : USA Kindle edition

Author(s): Margery Lawrence
Publisher: Christopher Roden/Ash-Tree Press
Availability: Amazon