book cover of Conference with the Dead

Conference with the Dead

A collection of stories by

World Fantasy Best Collection (nominee)
Conference With the Dead contains ten stories, six of them published here for the first time; all of them set in and around Terry's Derbyshire home town. In Terry Lamsley's fiction, our world, and the world of something else, exist side by side, with only the thinnest of lines dividing them. It is a line that is all-too easily, and often inadvertently, crossed, as his characters frequently discover. 'Why do I have this compulsion to fill an innocent, harmless little town like Buxton with all kinds of horrors?' says Terry. 'Better not to ask, I guess.' In his Introduction to this volume Ramsey Campbell writes: 'While Under the Crust was a remarkable debut . . . Conference With the Dead is finer still. . . . This is a major book by one of the major living talents in the field.

Contents: Introduction by Ramsey Campbell; 'Walking the Dog'; 'Blade and Bone'; 'The Break'; 'Someone to Dump On'; 'Running in the Family'; 'Screens'; 'The Toddler'; 'The Outer Darkness'; 'Inheritance'; 'The Extension'.

Genre: Horror

Used availability for Terry Lamsley's Conference with the Dead

Hardback Editions

May 2005 : USA Hardback

Title: Conference with the Dead
Author(s): Terry Lamsley
ISBN: 1-59780-000-7 / 978-1-59780-000-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Night Shade
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

June 2005 : USA Hardback

Title: Conference With The Dead
Author(s): Terry Lamsley
ISBN: 1-59780-001-5 / 978-1-59780-001-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Nightshade Book
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

March 1996 : UK Hardback

Title: Conference with the Dead: Tales of Supernatural Terror
Author(s): Terry Lamsley
ISBN: 1-899562-10-9 / 978-1-899562-10-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Ash Tree Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA