Thomas Burke

UK flag (1886 - 1945)

Influenced by his early experiences in London's Limehouse district (a haunt for sailors, dock-workers, and Chinese immigrants), Thomas Burke wrote "Limehouse Nights", a collection of tales about his experiences in the district. It was published in 1916 and established his writing career. In the years that followed, Burke would write many stories about the dark underside of life, featuring the uncanny and the grotesque.
   Nights in Town (1915)
     aka Nights in London
   Limehouse Nights (1916)
   Out and About London (1919)
   More Limehouse Nights (1921)
   East of Mansion House (1926)
   A Tea-shop in Limehouse (1931)
   City of Encounters (1932)
   Night Pieces (1935)
   Dark Nights (1944)
   The Best Short Stories of Thomas Burke (1950)
   The Golden Gong and Other Night-Pieces (2001)
   Johnson Looked Back (2018)
thumbno image availablethumbthumb
Anthologies containing stories by Thomas Burke
Into the London Fog (2020)
Eerie Tales from the Weird City
(British Library Tales of the Weird, book 16)
edited by
Elizabeth Dearnley
Doorway to Dilemma (2019)
Bewildering Tales of Dark Fantasy
(British Library Tales of the Weird, book 9)
edited by
Mike Ashley
Capital Crimes (2015)
London Mysteries
(British Library Crime Classics)
edited by
Martin Edwards

More anthologies 

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors