book cover of The Right Sort of Man
Added by 25 of our members

The Right Sort of Man

(2019)
(The first book in the Sparks & Bainbridge Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
For only $6.99: From debut author Allison Montclair comes an engrossing historical mystery novel set in post-war London, The Right Sort of Man.

In a London slowly recovering from World War II, two very different women join forces to launch a business venture in the heart of Mayfair—The Right Sort Marriage Bureau. Miss Iris Sparks, quick-witted and impulsive, and Mrs. Gwendolyn Bainbridge, practical and widowed with a young son, are determined to achieve some independence and do some good in a rapidly changing world.

But their promising start is threatened when their newest client is found murdered and the man arrested for the crime is the prospective husband they matched her with. While the police are convinced they have their man, Miss Sparks and Mrs. Bainbridge are not. To clear his name—and to rescue their fledgling operation’s reputation—Sparks and Bainbridge decide to investigate on their own. Little do they know that this will put their very lives at risk.

*BONUS CONTENT: This edition of The Right Sort of Man includes a new introduction from the author and a discussion guide

Genre: Historical Mystery

Praise for this book

"Full of heart, astute, and darkly comic, The Right Sort of Man is a keenly observed historical mystery set in post-WWII London about two women, a former intelligence agent and war widow, who join forces and set up a marriage bureau with the mission to knit lives together, while grappling with their own pasts." - Cara Black

"Rarely have I seen a novel that manages to be so charming and so substantial at the same time. The Right Sort of Man does more than nail post-WWII London in pitch-perfect setting and language--it introduces a female dynamic duo with whom I very quickly fell in love. The end of this book left me with a single thought: when can I read the next Iris and Gwen adventure?" - Lyndsay Faye

"Utterly fabulous! Vivid historical detail, gorgeous prose, and witty, unforgettable characters all combine to make The Right Sort of Man one of the best books I’ve read this year. Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Susan Elia MacNeal. I can’t wait to read Iris and Gwen’s next adventure!" - Anna Lee Huber

"The Right Sort of Man is the right sort of book! I loved every minute of this delightful adventure with two thoroughly modern women fighting for a place in a rapidly changing world. Can't wait for the next installment!" - Victoria Thompson


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Edinburgh Twilight
(Ian Hamilton Mystery, book 1)
Carole Lawrence
thumb
Murder at Blackwater Bend
(Stella and Lyndy Mystery, book 2)
Clara McKenna
thumb
The Body in the Garden
(Lily Adler Mystery, book 1)
Katharine Schellman

Used availability for Allison Montclair's The Right Sort of Man

Hardback Editions

June 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Right Sort of Man: A Sparks & Bainbridge Mystery
Author(s): Allison Montclair
ISBN: 1-250-17836-3 / 978-1-250-17836-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

June 2020 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Right Sort of Man: A Sparks & Bainbridge Mystery (Sparks & Bainbridge Mystery (1))
Author(s): Allison Montclair
ISBN: 1-250-62141-0 / 978-1-250-62141-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

June 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Right Sort of Man
Author(s): Allison Montclair
ISBN: 1-982636-49-1 / 978-1-982636-49-4
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Right Sort of Man: Library Edition
Author(s): Allison Montclair
ISBN: 1-982636-48-3 / 978-1-982636-48-7
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2019 : MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Right Sort of Man
Author(s): Allison Montclair
ISBN: 1-982636-50-5 / 978-1-982636-50-0
Publisher: Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Right Sort of Man
Author(s): Allison Montclair
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon   


June 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Right Sort of Man
Author(s): Allison Montclair
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

June 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Right Sort of Man: A Sparks & Bainbridge Mystery
Author(s): Allison Montclair
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU