Anna Lee Huber's picture
Followed by 32 of our members

Anna Lee Huber


USA flag

Anna Lee Huber was born and raised in a small town in Ohio. From a young age, her imagination was boundless. She spent her summers with her four brothers and one sister playing Star Wars, wearing snow boots and her mothers old nightgowns while swinging plastic bats as light-sabers, and The A-Team hanging off the riding lawn mower (what else were they supposed to use for the van?). In the fourth grade, she penned her first story and asked her teacher to read it to the class. Sure, it was titled Prom Duty, and a ten-year-old doesn't really know much about high school dances, but she chalked it up as her first success. She went on to write several more stories, including a series featuring her own gang of mystery-solving teens, keeping her pen moving despite teenage hormones and a cross-country move to South Carolina.

Having dreamed of becoming a Rock Star, more along the lines of Amy Grant than Britney Spears, Anna attended college in Music City USA Nashville, Tennessee. There, she met her husband while acting in a school production of Our Town. They married just before she graduated summa cum laude from Lipscomb University with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Music and a minor in Psychology. Discovering she was better trained to sing opera than Top 40, and uncertain where her future lay, she found work as an administrative assistant while she tried to find herself again.

Genres: Historical Mystery
 
Awards
Rita Awards Best First Book nominee (2013) : The Anatomist's Wife


Anna Lee Huber recommends
thumb
Murder in an English Village (2017)
(Beryl and Edwina Mystery, book 1)
Jessica Ellicott
"Absolutely delightful. Readers will fall in love with this intrepid new pair of sleuths as they sniff out the secrets hiding just beneath the surface of even the most unassuming English village."
thumb
No Cure for the Dead (2018)
(Florence Nightingale Mystery, book 1)
Christine Trent
"Trent transforms the Lady of the Lamp, Florence Nightingale, into a natural and formidable sleuth. Filled with fascinating historical details, a cast of diverting characters, and a perplexing mystery, No Cure for the Dead is a riveting to start to this new series."
thumb
A Tale of Two Murders (2018)
(Dickens of a Crime, book 1)
Heather Redmond
"Redmond deftly transforms a young Charles Dickens and his future wife, Kate Hogarth, into Victorian sleuths in this first installment of a new series. With meticulous attention to historical details and the known elements of Dickens’s life, A Tale of Two Murders unfolds a complex mystery that cunningly explores how Dickens might have been inspired to write the plot of his most well-known book, A Tale of Two Cities. Sharp, incisive, and delightfully twisty. I’m sure I won’t be the only reader exclaiming, ‘What the Dickens?!"
thumb
Ask Me No Questions (2018)
(Lady Dunbridge Mystery, book 1)
Shelley Noble
"This first book in a new series is deftly plotted, well-researched, sharp with wit, and teases at the possibility of future romance. Highly intriguing and entertaining."
thumb
The Witch Of Willow Hall (2018)
Hester Fox
"Beautifully written, skilfully plotted, and filled with quiet terror…perfect for fans of Simone St. James and Kate Morton."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors