book cover of The Killing House
Added by 20 of our members

The Killing House

(2018)
(The sixth book in the Paula Maguire series)
A novel by

 
 
Long-buried secrets are being unearthed. And they're very close to home...

Forensic psychologist Paula Maguire returns yet again to her hometown to investigate a spine-chilling case in THE KILLING HOUSE, the sixth novel in Claire McGowan's series. The Paula Maguire series is the perfect read for fans of Michael Connelly and Peter May.

'A delicious spookiness is added to McGowan's customary mix of complex characterisation and sweat-inducing excitement, offering a new level of chilling thrills' - Sunday Mirror

When a puzzling missing persons' case opens up in her hometown, forensic psychologist Paula Maguire can't help but return once more.

Renovations at an abandoned farm have uncovered two bodies: a man known to be an IRA member missing since the nineties, and a young girl whose identity remains a mystery.

As Paula attempts to discover who the girl is and why no one is looking for her, an anonymous tip-off claims that her own long-lost mother is also buried on the farm.

When another girl is kidnapped, Paula must find the person responsible before more lives are destroyed. But there are explosive secrets still to surface. And even Paula can't predict that the investigation will strike at the heart of all she holds dear.

What readers are saying about the Paula Maguire series:

'I have loved every single book. It's the characters and their own personal livesthat reallystand out in Claire McGowan's novels'

'Claire McGowan knows how to pull us in. Her future releases are always lined up on my kindle way ahead of time!'

'McGowan keeps developing her characters to be more rounded and complex. I've really fallen in love with the character of Paula Maguire and I can't wait to read more about her'

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Astonishing." - Peter James


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Claire McGowan's The Killing House

Hardback Editions

December 2019 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Killing House
Author(s): Claire McGowan
ISBN: 1-4448-4318-4 / 978-1-4448-4318-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Ulverscroft Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


Paperback Editions

September 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Killing House (Paula Maguire 6): An explosive Irish crime thriller that will give you chills
Author(s): Claire McGowan
ISBN: 1-4722-2827-8 / 978-1-4722-2827-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Killing House (Paula Maguire 6): An explosive Irish crime thriller that will give you chills
Author(s): Claire McGowan
ISBN: 1-4722-2824-3 / 978-1-4722-2824-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

February 2020 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Killing House
Author(s): Claire McGowan
ISBN: 1-78771-871-9 / 978-1-78771-871-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   


February 2020 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Killing House
Author(s): Claire McGowan
ISBN: 1-78771-900-6 / 978-1-78771-900-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   


April 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Killing House: Paula Maguire, Book 6
Author(s): Claire McGowan
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   


April 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Killing House: Paula Maguire, Book 6
Author(s): Claire McGowan
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Killing House: Paula Maguire, Book 6
Author(s): Claire McGowan
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Killing House: Paula Maguire, Book 6
Author(s): Claire McGowan
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Killing House (Paula Maguire 6): An explosive Irish crime thriller that will give you chills (Paula Maguire, 6)
Author(s): Claire McGowan
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


April 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Killing House (Paula Maguire 6): An explosive Irish crime thriller that will give you chills (Paula Maguire, 6)
Author(s): Claire McGowan
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU