book cover of The Ruin
Added by 38 of our members

The Ruin

(2018)
(The first book in the Cormac Reilly series)
A novel by

 
 
Awards
Barry Awards Best Paperback original (nominee)
The International Best Seller.

Cormac Reilly is about to reopen a case it took him twenty years to forget.

On his first week on the job, Garda Cormac Reilly responds to a call at a decrepit country house to find two silent, neglected children waiting for him - 15-year-old Maude and five-year-old Jack. Their mother lies dead upstairs.

Twenty years later, Cormac has left his high-flying career as a detective in Dublin and returned to Galway. As he struggles to navigate the politics of a new police station, Maude and Jack return to haunt him.

What ties a recent suicide to the woman's death so long ago? And who among his new colleagues can Cormac really trust?

This unsettling crime debut draws us deep into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can't - or won't. Perfect for fans of Tana French, Jane Casey, Liz Nugent, Susie Steiner and Caz Frear.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Loved every page . . . Cormac Reilly is a brilliant new character, so real you can hear his footsteps on the stairs. Utterly gripping, brilliantly executed story." - Sam Blake

"THE RUIN is as convincing as it is multi-layered, as compelling as it is complex . . . Dervla is a future star of the genre." - Chris Brookmyre

"Intelligent, compassionate and believable." - Sinéad Crowley

"Fans of Tana French will love McTiernan's expertly plotted, complex web of secrets that refuse to stay hidden." - Karen Dionne

"Heartbreaking and heart-stopping." - Caz Frear

"There are not many books that will keep me reading from start to finish but Dervla McTiernan's THE RUIN did just that . . . An excellent story, very well written . . . this one was a winner for me!" - Alex Gray

"Excellently written and at times, heartcatchingly sad." - Marian Keyes

"A terrific read." - Liz Nugent


Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Missing Ones
(Detective Lottie Parker, book 1)
Patricia Gibney

Used availability for Dervla McTiernan's The Ruin

Hardback Editions

December 2018 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: The Ruin (Cormac Reilly)
Author(s): Dervla McTiernan
ISBN: 1-64358-013-2 / 978-1-64358-013-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Platinum Spotlight Series
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 2019 : Australia Paperback
thumb

Title: The Ruin
Author(s): Dervla McTiernan
ISBN: 1-4607-5540-5 / 978-1-4607-5540-2 (Australia edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins - AU
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Ruin: The gripping crime thriller you won't want to miss (The Cormac Reilly Series)
Author(s): Dervla McTiernan
ISBN: 0-7515-6931-3 / 978-0-7515-6931-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Sphere
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


July 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Ruin
Author(s): Dervla McTiernan
ISBN: 0-14-313312-8 / 978-0-14-313312-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Ruin: 'As moving as it is fast-paced' Val McDermid (The Cormac Reilly Series)
Author(s): Dervla McTiernan
ISBN: 0-7515-6930-5 / 978-0-7515-6930-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Sphere
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


February 2018 : Australia Paperback
thumb

Title: The Ruin
Author(s): Dervla McTiernan
ISBN: 1-4607-5421-2 / 978-1-4607-5421-4 (Australia edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins - AU
Availability: Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

July 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Ruin: A Novel (Cormac Reilly)
Author(s): Dervla McTiernan
ISBN: 1-5385-4330-3 / 978-1-5385-4330-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Ruin: Library Edition (Cormac Reilly)
Author(s): Dervla McTiernan
ISBN: 1-5385-4329-X / 978-1-5385-4329-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2018 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Ruin: A Novel (Cormac Reilly)
Author(s): Dervla McTiernan
ISBN: 1-5385-4331-1 / 978-1-5385-4331-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Ruin
Author(s): Dervla McTiernan
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon   


July 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Ruin
Author(s): Dervla McTiernan
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon CA   


March 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Ruin
Author(s): Dervla McTiernan
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


March 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Ruin
Author(s): Dervla McTiernan
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon AU   


March 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Ruin
Author(s): Dervla McTiernan
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Availability: Amazon   


March 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Ruin
Author(s): Dervla McTiernan
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Availability: Amazon UK   


February 2018 : Australia Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Ruin: 1
Author(s): Dervla McTiernan
ISBN: 1-4607-9593-8 / 978-1-4607-9593-4 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda/HarperCollins audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


February 2018 : Australia Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Ruin: 1
Author(s): Dervla McTiernan
ISBN: 1-4607-9594-6 / 978-1-4607-9594-1 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda/HarperCollins audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

July 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Ruin: A Novel
Author(s): Dervla McTiernan
Publisher: Penguin Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


March 2018 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Ruin: The gripping crime thriller you won't want to miss (The Cormac Reilly Series Book 1)
Author(s): Dervla McTiernan
Publisher: Sphere
Availability: Amazon UK   


March 2018 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Ruin (Cormac Reilly Book 1)
Author(s): Dervla McTiernan
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon AU