book cover of The Boat Runner

The Boat Runner

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
In the tradition of All the Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale comes an incandescent debut novel about a young Dutch man who comes of age during the perilousness of World War II.

Beginning in the summer of 1939, 14-year-old Jacob Koopman and his older brother, Edwin, enjoy lives of prosperity and quiet contentment. Many of the residents in their small Dutch town have some connection to the Koopman lightbulb factory, and the locals hold the family in high esteem.

On days when they aren't playing with friends, Jacob and Edwin help their uncle Martin on his fishing boat in the North Sea, where German ships have become a common sight. But conflict still seems unthinkable, even as the boys' father naively sends his sons to a Hitler Youth Camp in an effort to secure German business for the factory.

When war breaks out, Jacob's world is thrown into chaos. The Boat Runner follows Jacob over the course of four years, through the forests of France, on the stormy beaches of England, and deep within the secret missions of the German navy, where he is confronted with the moral dilemma that will change his life - and his life's mission - forever.

Epic in scope and featuring a thrilling narrative with precise, elegant language, The Boat Runner tells the little-known story of the young Dutch boys who were thrown into the Nazi campaign as well as the brave boatmen who risked everything to give Jewish refugees safe passage to land abroad. Through one boy's harrowing tale of personal redemption, here is a novel about the power of people's stories and voices to shine light through our darkest days, until only love prevails.

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"Murphy is a rare writer whose prose rings with authority and beauty as it weaves the devastating story of children coming of age in the darkest hours of the twentieth century." - Jonis Agee

"Devin Murphy’s fantastic debut novel The Boat Runner is a lot of things - thrilling, tragic, well-paced - but maybe most of all, timely." - Nickolas Butler

"Poignant… acts as a cautionary tale for our own times… The young Dutch boy Jacob Koopman, together with his family, lives in the middle of a morality tale, in which doing the right thing is often obscured by the need to survive. Devin Murphy has given us a moving, powerful and important work." - Joseph Kertes

"Devin Murphy’s The Boat Runner is staggering. An epic and unknown story of World War II, it lays bare the moral impossibilities families face when bombs begin to fall." - Nicholas Mainieri


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Devin Murphy's The Boat Runner

Hardback Editions

October 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Boat Runner (Thorndike Press Large Print Reviewers' Choice)
Author(s): Devin Murphy
ISBN: 1-4328-4267-6 / 978-1-4328-4267-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2017 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: The Boat Runner (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)
Author(s): Devin Murphy
ISBN: 0-606-40809-6 / 978-0-606-40809-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Turtleback Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

August 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Boat Runner: A Novel
Author(s): Devin Murphy
ISBN: 0-06-265801-8 / 978-0-06-265801-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

September 2017 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Boat Runner
Author(s): Devin Murphy
ISBN: 1-5384-5396-7 / 978-1-5384-5396-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


September 2017 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Boat Runner Lib/E
Author(s): Devin Murphy
ISBN: 1-5384-5394-0 / 978-1-5384-5394-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


September 2017 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Boat Runner: A Novel
Author(s): Devin Murphy
ISBN: 1-5384-5395-9 / 978-1-5384-5395-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishing and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


September 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Boat Runner: A Novel
Author(s): Devin Murphy
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


September 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Boat Runner: A Novel
Author(s): Devin Murphy
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon CA   


September 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Boat Runner: A Novel
Author(s): Devin Murphy
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

September 2017 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Boat Runner: A Novel
Author(s): Devin Murphy
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU