book cover of The Garnett Girls
Added by 36 members
 

The Garnett Girls

(2023)
A novel by

 
 
Make room in your beach bag for this great summer read


In this brilliant debut novel full of heart and warmth, three very different sisters—and their free-spirited mother—must grapple with life, responsibilities, and family secrets.

“Gorgeously written and utterly absorbing…a rare and wonderful delight.” — Lucy Foley, New York Times bestselling author




Love makes you do things you never thought you were capable of…

Forbidden, passionate and all-encompassing, Margo and Richard’s love affair was the stuff of legend—but, ultimately, doomed.

When Richard walked out, Margo locked herself away, leaving her three daughters, Rachel, Imogen, and Sasha, to run wild.

Years later, charismatic Margo entertains lovers and friends in her cottage on the Isle of Wight, refusing to ever speak of Richard and her painful past. But her silence is keeping each of the Garnett girls from finding true happiness.

Rachel is desperate to return to London but is held hostage by responsibility for Sandcove, their beloved but crumbling family home.

Dreamy Imogen feels the pressure to marry her kind, considerate fiancé, even when life is taking an unexpected turn.

And wild, passionate Sasha, trapped between her fractured family and controlling husband, is weighed down by a secret that could shake the family to its core…

The Garnett Girls, the captivating debut novel from Georgina Moore, asks whether children can ever be free of the mistakes of their parents. 


Genre: General Fiction

Praise for this book

"The Garnett Girls is just my kind of novel - a beautiful, faded family home, a large messy family that's full of secrets and misunderstandings, characters that are so alive and complex and fascinating. I loved the writing, the sharp-eyed descriptions and scene-setting, but most of all the emotional intelligence invested in all the characters. A fabulous debut." - Fanny Blake

"This novel has it all, wonderful contemporary characters you come to really care about, loving but tangled, and at times fraught, family relationships, love in all its forms, and at its core, a destructive family secret. I loved every minute I spent with the wonderful Garnett Girls, their friends and extended family." - Marika Cobbold

"Gorgeously written and utterly absorbing. A story to lose yourself in, characters to fall in love with: this sort of book is a rare and wonderful delight." - Lucy Foley

"The Garnett Girls hovers between Mary Wesley and Charlotte Mendelson in its conjuring of richly drawn, deeply fallible characters in enviable settings. Bad behavior abounds but so does a clear-eyed understanding of family dynamics and intimate damage." - Patrick Gale

"I fell head over heels in love with The Garnett Girls. Sublime writing, deep deep emotion, and characters you won't want to let go. It's as delicious and classy and intoxicating as a cool glass of Sancerre. Heavenly!" - Veronica Henry

"I fell completely and utterly in love with The Garnett Girls. Beautifully written, with an idyllic setting, fascinating characters and tangled family relationships, this debut is a gorgeous and compelling read." - Jill Mansell

"Pure pleasure. Indulgent, escapist, and gorgeously atmospheric, The Garnett Girls is a sweeping saga of family secrets, glamour and betrayal, in the tradition of Penny Vincenzi and Louise Bagshawe but with a style and heart all its own. Wonderful." - Emma Stonex

"The perfect holiday read and a slice of pure escapism. I was drawn into the world of The Garnett Girls, a compelling story full of warmth and shade, and characters that I'd love to party with in real life. Like the best of Rosamund Pilcher." - Harriet Tyce


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Georgina Moore's The Garnett Girls


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors