book cover of Shoveling Smoke
Added by 6 of our members

Shoveling Smoke

A collection of stories by

Book DescriptionThe creator of Judge Deborah Knott and Lieutenant Sigrid Harald, Margaret Maron is one of the finest contemporary mystery writers. Maron has a sensitivity about how time and place influence people and events, about how past generations continue to our world, about how the domestic situation can breed both warmth and quiet despair. In short, Maron sees the mystery story as concerned with people as well as puzzles.

Shoveling Smoke contains twenty-two of Margaret Maron's best short stories, from her very first published mystery to her most recent tales. The book includes all of the short cases of Sigrid Harald and Deborah Knott, as well as other mysteries set in Knott's Colleton County. Some of the stories show how crime can emerge from ordinary situations; others recapture the Golden Age delight in twisty plotting with seemingly impossible crimes reminiscent of John Dickson Carr and dying messages harking back to Ellery Queen. But in all the stories, Maron's personal voice, her concern for people, is dominant.

The book concludes with the first publication of a new story about Deborah Knott and a complete checklist of Margaret Maron's mystery novels and short stories.

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

(Sharon McCone, book 30.4)
Marcia Muller
Killer Weekend
(Walt Fleming / Sun Valley, book 1)
Ridley Pearson

Used availability for Margaret Maron's Shoveling Smoke

Hardback Editions

June 1997 : USA Hardback

Title: Shoveling Smoke
Author(s): Margaret Maron
ISBN: 1-885941-14-5 / 978-1-885941-14-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Crippen & Landru Publishers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   

Paperback Editions

April 1997 : USA Paperback

Title: Shoveling Smoke: Selected Mystery Stories
Author(s): Margaret Maron
ISBN: 1-885941-15-3 / 978-1-885941-15-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Crippen & Landru Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU